The Charlotte 49ers held their Annual All Sports Banquet in Halton Arena, Sunday night and presented team MVP and Coaches’ Awards as well as department-wide academic honors.

The 49ers start-up football program awarded its first-ever Offensive and Defensive MVPs to offensive lineman Jamal Covington and linebacker Mark Hogan while presenting the Jon Richardson Football Scholarship to starting center Thomas La Bianca. Men’s Basketball presented its Most Improved Player award to sophomore Mike Thorne while senior Ny Hammonds was named the women’s basketball MVP. NCAA Tournament participant men’s soccer awarded its MVP to leading scorer Kyle Parker. Some spring programs honored their 2013 award winners, since the 2014 season is still in action.

In addition to the athletic awards, the 49ers presented the Hugh McEniry and Bonnie Cone Awards to the student-athletes with the highest GPA over the past two semesters. The Hugh McEniry Award was awarded to track and field’s Coye Still, baseball’s Patric King, Men’s Soccer’s Jeremy Dennis and men’s tennis’ Jordi Massalle Ferrer. The Bonnie Cone Award went to women’s soccer’s Dana Robertson, cross country’s Chelsea Matson and volleyball’s Michelle Hovey. All seven award winners had posted a perfect 4.0 GPA over the past two semesters.


MVP Sport Recipient

MVP (2013) Baseball Justin Seager

Most Improved Player Men’s Basketball Mike Thorne

MVP Women’s Basketball Ny Hammonds

MVP Cheerleaders Ashley Holmes

MVP Men’s Cross Country Zach Greth

MVP Women’s Cross Country Maraya Slatter

Offensive MVP Football Jamal Covington

Defensive MVP Football Mark Hogan

Scout Team Offensive MVP Football Donjore Gainey

Scout Team Defensive MVP Football Jordan Abrams

MVP Gold Dusters Dance Team Charlotte Brown

MVP Golf Franco Castro

MVP Men’s Soccer Kyle Parker

MVP Women’s Soccer Monica Trickett

MVP (2013) Softball Chelsea Ingersoll

MVP Men’s Tennis Jordi Massalle Ferrer; Forrest Edwards

MVP Women’s Tennis Lisa Grosselius

MVP Men’s Indoor Track and Field Kerrick Williams

MVP Women’s Indoor Track and Field JoAnn Blakney

MVP (2013) Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Jake Deaton

MVP (2013) Women’s Outdoor Track and Field T’Sheila Mungo

MVP Volleyball Amanda Videmsek


Special Awards Sport Recipient

Hayward Grubstake Award Men’s Basketball Ben Cherry

Gold Nugget Award Women’s Basketball Olivia Rankin

Vincent Vernitsky Award Men’s Cross Country/Track and Field Ben Sterett

Vincent Vernitsky Award Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field Kim Spano

David Schlee Award Men’s Soccer Nick Barnhorst

Wendi Cook Award Women’s Tennis Macy Vonderschmidt

Coaches Award Volleyball Laura Cantrell


Academic Awards Recipient, Sport

Hugh McEniry Award Academics (male) Coye Still, Track and Field

Hugh McEniry Award Academics (male) Patric King, Baseball

Hugh McEniry Award Academics (male) Jeremy Dennis, Men’s Soccer

Hugh McEniry Award Academics (male) Jordi Massalle Ferrer, Men’s Tennis

Bonnie Cone Award Academics (female) Dana Robertson, Women’s Soccer

Bonnie Cone Award Academics (female) Chelsea Matson, Cross Country

Bonnie Cone Award Academics (female) Michelle Hovey, Volleyball