Charlotte, NC – Charlotte 49ers men’s soccer senior midfielder Tyler Gibson and junior forward Giuseppe Gentile were just named to the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy list. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

This is the second consecutive season that Gibson has been named to the Hermann Trophy Watch list. In 2011, former 49ers standout defender Charles Rodriguez was on the Hermann Trophy Watch list. Former 49ers standout Chris Salvaggione was a semifinalist for the 2008 Hermann Trophy.

Charlotte is one of only six schools that have two players named to the Hermann Trophy Watch list. Conference USA is well represented on the Hermann Trophy Watch list as six players on the list hail from Conference USA schools.

Last season, Gibson and Gentile, who were both named to this year’s preseason All-Conference USA team, earned first-team NSCAA All-Mid-Atlantic Region honors.

Gentile, who earned second-team All-Atlantic 10 honors last season, led the 49ers in assists with seven. He finished second on the team with nine goals.  He tallied game-winning goals against Kentucky, George Washington and UAB in the NCAA Tournament. In October, he scored three goals and tallied two assists in the same weekend in Charlotte’s victories over Massachusetts and Rhode Island. For his performance in those two games, he was named’s National Player of the Week as well as Atlantic 10 Player of the Week.

Last season, Gibson, who earned first-team All-Atlantic 10 honors for the third straight season, was named first-team All-Region for the second straight year. Gibson was also a member of the Hermann Award watch list. Last season, Gibson finished tied for second on the team with six assists. He also scored three goals including game-winning goals against Stony Brook and Duquesne.

The watch list will be narrowed down to 15 players by a vote in late November by NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members. Member coaches and college soccer fans will then vote for the three semifinalists which will be announced in early December. The winner will be announced at the awards' banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in January.