The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) announced its selections for the 2013 University Division All-State Softball Teams on Thursday. Twenty-three student-athletes representing nine different North Carolina Universities were named to the 2013 NCCSIA University Division All-State Softball Teams.

Charlotte outfielders Briana Gwaltney (Anaheim Hills, Calif. / Canyon HS) and Jessica Plemmons (Lexington, N.C. / North Davidson HS) both earned spots on the Second Team in 2013. Gwaltney broke Charlotte's career RBI record on March 14 and finished with 141 RBI as a 49er. She scored a team-high 32 runs and finished second on the squad with seven homers, extending her career lead in that category to 35 at Charlotte. Plemmons, one of just four freshmen named All-State, played 46 games, starting 45 for the 49ers. She finished third on the team with a .350 batting average, while leading the team with 14 doubles, third-most in the Atlantic 10 Conference, and tying for second on the squad with 49 hits. She was also second on the squad with 31 RBI in her debut season.

Six of this year’s honorees earned All-State recognition previously, topped by senior outfielder Tomeka Watson of Elon with her fourth consecutive selection. Junior infielder Samantha Meenaghan of Gardner-Webb has been named All-State in each of her three seasons, while sophomore infielder Ericka Nesbitt of Campbell, senior outfielder Allie Cashion of Appalachian State, junior outfielder Carleigh Nester of Elon and senior outfielder Briana Gwaltney of Charlotte received the award for the second time.

The All-State first team consists of pitchers Raeanne Hanks (UNCG) and Courtney Roberts (Campbell); catcher Lindsay Thomas (UNCG); infielders Lauryn Buckworth (UNCW), Raven Lee (Campbell), Nesbitt (Campbell), and Meenaghan (Gardner-Webb); outfielders Cashion (Appalachian State), Watson (Elon) and Nester (Elon); designated player Katelyn Bedwell (UNCG); and utility player Aisha Figueroa (UNCG).

The All-State second team consists of pitchers Sarah Christian (East Carolina) and Alissa Schoelkopf (Appalachian State); catcher Courtney Klingler (Campbell); infielders Heather Robb (UNCG), Kristi Oshiro (East Carolina), Jordan Lewis (East Carolina), and Morgan Baker (Gardner-Webb); outfielders Briana Gwaltney (Charlotte), Stephanie Jones (Campbell), and Jessica Plemmons (Charlotte); and utility player Amber Steinhardt (Western Carolina).

Nominees were submitted by North Carolina sports information professionals and voted on by the NCCSIA members.

Founded in 2002, The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) is comprised of sports information professionals from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and independent institutions from the state of North Carolina. The purpose of the organization is to promote collegiate athletics at all schools. Membership is open to anyone affiliated with a college, university or conference located in North Carolina, and whose area of responsibility lies within sports information.

NCCSSIA selects All-State teams in the University (Division I) and College (Division II, III, NAIA) divisions for men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, softball and baseball.

North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association
2013 University Division All-State Softball Teams
First Team
Pos. Name Class School Hometown
P Reannae Hanks Jr. UNC Greensboro Rainier, Ore.
P Courtney Roberts Fr. Campbell Simpsonville, S.C.
C Lindsay THomas Fr. UNC Greensboro Irvine, Calif.
INF Ericka Nesbitt & So. Campbell Salisbury, N.C.
INF Lauryn Buckworth Sr. UNC Wilmongton Elkton, Md.
INF Raven Lee Jr. Campbell Battleboro, N.C.
INF Samantha Meenaghan &% Jr. Gardner-Webb Altantic Beach, Fla.
OF Allie Cashion %


Appalachian State Waxhaw, N.C.
OF Tomeka Watson &%# Sr. Elon Jackson, Ga.
OF Carleigh Nester % Jr. Elon Kernersville, N.C.
UTL Aisha Figueroa Jr. UNC Greensboro Virginia Beach, Va.
DP Katelyn Bedwell Fr. UNC Greensboro Surrey, B.C.
Second Team
Pos. Name Class School Hometown
SP Sarah Christian So. East Carolina Greenville, N.C.
SP Alissa Schoelkopf So. Appalachian State Sewell, N.J.
C Courtney Klingler Fr. Campbell Alvin, Texas
INF Heather Robb Sr. UNC Greensboro Apex, N.C.
INF Kristi Oshiro Jr. East Carolina Mililani, Hawaii
INF Jordan Lewis Jr. East Carolina Fremont, Calif.
INF Morgan Baker Jr. Garnder-Webb Louisville, Ky.
OF Briana Gwaltney & Sr. Charlotte Anaheim Hills, Calif.
OF Stephanie Jones So. Campbell Black Mountain, N.C.
OF Jessica Plemmons Fr. Charlotte Lexington, N.C.
UTL Amber Steinhardt Sr. Western Carolina Lantana, Fla.
& - Named to 2012 All-State Team
% - Named to 2011 All-State Team
# - Named to 2010 All-State Team