Charlotte, NC – Chancellor Dr. Philip Dubois and Director of Athletics Judy Rose announced that the university and Charlotte 49ers head men’s basketball coach Alan Major have agreed to a three-year contract extension that will keep Major on the 49ers sidelines through the 2017-18 season.

“I am pleased with the direction of our men’s basketball program under the leadership of Alan Major,” Rose said. “We are trending in the right direction.  Our team played in post season for the first time since 2008. His recruiting model is based on getting quality young men into our program… good basketball players with strong character and a strong desire to graduate.  I am confident that we will be successful in Conference USA.”

Major just completed his third season at the helm of the 49ers men’s basketball program. In each of his three seasons, the 49ers increased both their overall and conference win totals on the way to a 21-12 season in 2012-13 with an 8-8 mark in Atlantic 10 play. During those three seasons, Charlotte has had one player earn All-Atlantic 10 honors; two players earn A-10 All-Rookie team honors and one All-Atlantic 10 defensive team selection.

This past season, the 49ers recorded their first 20-win season since 2008 with 21 wins, which marked the most wins by the 49ers since a 21-win season in 2004-05. The 49ers earned a bid to the NIT which marked the program’s first postseason tournament berth since reaching the 2008 NIT. Charlotte captured the Great Alaska Shootout title which was the 49ers first regular-season tournament title since capturing the 2004 Cable Car Classic title.

“As a coaching staff, we are excited and grateful for the opportunity to continue our journey at Charlotte,” Major said. “I am thankful for the support and leadership of Chancellor Dubois and Judy Rose. I would like to give credit to our coaching staff, players and support staff for the part that they have played in this extension. I am very excited about the future of Charlotte basketball.”

The 49ers, who competed in the Atlantic 10 Conference in 2012-13, are moving to Conference USA in 2013-14. Major and his coaching staff will welcome back four starters off last year’s 21-win team.