CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Charlotte women’s track and field team defended their title and earned their seventh Atlantic 10 Outdoor Championship title at the Irwin Belk Track and Field Center on Sunday afternoon.

Charlotte’s dominance in the A10 has been truly remarkable throughout the years. On the women’s side, the 49ers have won seven of the eight possible outdoor championships and the men have finished with four. Including both the indoor and outdoor seasons, the Charlotte track and field program has recorded 21 A-10 Championship titles. The program has also tallied seven sweeps, with its most current sweep occurring at the 2013 indoor championships.

The women’s team pulled together in cold and rainy conditions to finish with a team score of 120.5. In second was Rhode Island with a team score of 98. The men’s team had several first place finishes but finished with 175 points behind 2013 A10 Outdoor Champion Rhode Island (198).

Head coach Robert Olesen was named the Women’s Coach of the Year. Olesen has achieved that honor 21 times since Charlotte joined the league.

Anthony Campbell was named the Most Outstanding Male Rookie Performer. Campbell set a new meet record in the triple jump with a leap of 49’09.25. Senior Jake Deaton was named the Most Outstanding Male Performer following his wins in the shot put (57’08.25) and discus (181’03).

All athletes who finished in first and second were automatically placed on the Atlantic 10 All-Conference first and second teams

Juanita Leto kicked things off for the 49ers with after winning the 100m hurdles with a personal record time of 13.93. Freshman Alvonna Blakney followed in second (13.99) and LeAnna Morrison was fourth (14.26). Morrison also finished second in the 400m hurdles with a season-best time of 59.85.

Maraya Slatter won the 800m title with a time of 2:09.90. Taylor Carcella finished fifth (2:11.38). Slatter also clocked a PR in the 1500m (4:30.92) to finish fourth.

T'Sheila Mungo (54.70) was second in the 400m dash. Briauna Jones finished third in the triple jump with a season-best leap of 39’01. She was also fourth in the 100m (12.02).

Jamaica Dean was third in the shot put with a PR of 39’10.50. Evelyn Putman finished fifth in the heptathlon with a score of 4322.

The 4x100m relay team (Chelsie Carlton, Jones, Leto, and Blakney) finished third with a team-best time of 46.79. The 4x400m relay team (Mungo, Jaleah Wilder, Blakney, and Morrison) were also third (3:45.66). The 4x800m relay team (Rachel Miller, Jenna Christensen, Carcella, and Slatter) finished third with a season-best time of 9:00.91.

The men’s 4x100m team (John Osborne, LeRoy Rouse, Anthony Bynum, and Khyran Shank) captured the conference title with a time of 40.43. The 4x400m team (Brian Hamilton, Michael Pedemonte, Dij'aun Higgins, and Chris Tate) had an amazing finish to win the event with a time of 3:13.43.

Shank won the 100m (10.60) followed by Rouse in third (10.65), and Osborne in fifth (10.74).

Bynum finished first in the 400m dash with a PR of 46.74. Bynum was one of three 49ers to place in the 200m. Bynum, who set an A-10 meet record in Saturday’s prelims (20.67) was was second (21.13), Shank finished third (21.15), and Osborne was fourth (21.58) in the finals.

The 4x800m relay team (Nicholas Rotz, Sean Kluttz, Christian Norbye, and Michael Tamayo) clocked a team-best time of 7:34.72. In the decathlon, Mike Cross finished fifth with a point total of 5727.

Charlotte will compete in a few last chance qualifiers before heading to the NCAA East Preliminary on May 23-25 in Greensboro. 

***Visit Championship Central for full recaps, photo galleries, and more!