CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Charlotte track and field team wrapped up the first day of the Atlantic 10 Outdoor Championships by winning three conference titles at the Irwin Belk Track and Field Center on Saturday.

Charlotte’s men are currently in second (61). Rhode Island is leading with a point total of 73, followed by Temple (31), St. Joseph's (22), and VCU (22) to round out the top five.

The women’s team is in sixth place with 25.5 points. Dayton leads with 66 points, followed by Duquesne (43), Rhode Island (40), Massachusetts (36), and VCU (32) in the top five.

The 49ers shined in the field events as Coye Still stamped his name on Charlotte’s first conference title of the meet. Still, who has been a standout for the 49ers, won the long jump with a personal record leap of 24’02.5.

Jake Deaton, who has racked up several A10 titles during his tenure, was the discus champion on Saturday with a toss of 181’03.

Trey McRae, who was the 2013 A10 Indoor high jump champion, repeated that feat with a season-best leap of 7’00.05 to win the event. Isaac McReynolds came in fifth (6’04.25).

Still, Deaton, and McRae were all named to the Atlantic 10 All-Conference first team.

In other field events, Kevin Calhoun received A-10 All-Confernce second team honors after finishing second and tabbing a PR in the pole vault (15’09). Robert Wilson finished in third (15’03).

Katrina Wright also earned a spot on the second team in the hammer throw. Wright set a PR of 171’06 to finish second. She also finished fifth in the discus (149’02).

Kenneth Pressley also made his way to the awards podium with a third place finish in the hammer and a PR of 168’07.John Celona followed in fifth with a PR of 162’08.

Osvaldo Hernandez (184’07) and Aubrey Dowding (123’01) both finished fifth in the men’s and women’s javelin. Hernandez finished with a season-best mark.

Charlotte advanced 18 athletes to Sunday’s finals following preliminary races on Saturday. Athletes who finished in the top eight of their respective events qualified for finals.

Anthony Bynum finished with a staggering, season-best time of 20.67 to take the top spot in the 200m preliminaries en route to setting a new A-10 Conference Championship record. Khyran Shank (21.42) won his heat and John Osborne (21.58) took the seventh spot to qualify for the finals. Osborne also recorded a PR in the 200m. Bynum also finished first in the 400m dash prelims with a time of 47.58. Also advancing in the 400m dash is Brian Hamilton who had a PR of 48.42.

In the 100m dash, Shank (10.46) was the top performer. LeRoy Rouse (10.62) was second overall and first in his heat with a season-best time while Osbourne was sixth (10.73). Briauna Jones won her heat and finished fourth overall in the women’s 100m (11.98)

T'Sheila Mungo led her heat in the 400m (53.87). Mungo turned in personal record time and was fourth in the 200m dash (24.23). LeAnna Morrison was first in the 400m hurdles with a PR time of 58.99

A trio of Niners qualified for the 100m hurdles. Alvonna Blakney led Charlotte and finished second overall with a PR time of 13.82. Morrison won her heat with a time of 14.11 and Juanita Leto took second in her heat (13.82) to advance. In the men’s 110m hurdles, Isaac McReynolds will be Charlotte’s lone representative. McReynolds finished second with a qualifying time of 14.30.

In the 800m, Maraya Slatter won her heat (2:10.70) and Taylor Carcella was second in her heat with a time of 2:09.75 to advance.

Sunday’s events will kick-off at 8:30 a.m. with the decathlon and the heptathlon beginning at 8:45 a.m. Field and running events will begin at 10 a.m. and follow a rolling schedule. The championships will conclude with the awards ceremony in the afternoon. 

***Visit Championship Central for photos and more!