NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - The Charlotte 49ers women's basketball team, with one of the best seasons in school history, will enter the upcoming Buick Atlantic 10 Championship as the No. 2 seed, matching its top finish since joining the conference in 2005-06. The last time the Niners were as high as No. 2 entering the league event was in 2006, their first year in the A-10.

Charlotte locked up a first-round bye following their triumph at La Salle last Sunday, Feb. 24. While the 49ers knew they could finish anywhere from No. 1 to No. 4, it was not until after final results from Sunday's action, the last day of the regular season, that it was official that the Niners would enter the tournament as the second seed.

Charlotte begins the A-10 Tournament riding a 13-game win streak, the longest in program history. It has won its last 13 conference contests for a 13-1 record, only falling in the league opener to Fordham, who wound up as the No. 3 seed.

The 49ers were a game shy of regular-season champion Dayton in the standings and the two teams did not meet this year. The only opportunity for them to play would be in the tournament final.

The Niners own a 6-6 all-time record in the league championships, winning the 2009 tournament held in Charlotte.

The 49ers will face the winner of the No. 7 seed Xavier and No. 10 seed Temple matchup in the quarterfinals March 9 at 5 p.m. Charlotte knocked off the Muskeeters, 67-55, and the Owls, 66-43, both at home Jan. 20 and Feb. 6, respectively.

The first three rounds of the tournament, on which the Niners will only be playing two days, will be held at Saint Joseph's Michael J. Hagan '85 Arena in Philadelphia. If Charlotte wins March 9, it will then play in the semifinal game March 10 at 4 p.m. also at Hagan Arena live on CBS Sports Network.

Ticket information for those games is available by calling the Saint Joseph's ticket office at (610) 660-1712. The championship game will be held a week later, March 16, in Brooklyn, N.Y., at the Barclays Center. Tickets for the title contest can be purchased through Ticketmaster online or visiting the arena box office.

Seeds for 2013 Buick Atlantic 10 Championship:
1. Dayton (14-0)
2. Charlotte (13-1)
3. Fordham (12-2)
4. Saint Joseph's (11-3)
5. Duquesne (11-3)
6. Butler (8-6)
7. Xavier (7-7)
8. George Washington (7-7)
9. Richmond (6-8)
10. Temple (5-9)
11. Saint Louis (5-9)
12. VCU (4-10)