CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The Charlotte men’s and women’s team captured their final 2013 Atlantic 10 Indoor Championship titles at Mackal Fieldhouse on the campus of the University of Rhode Island, Sunday afternoon.
Both the men’s and women’s teams entered Sunday’s competition in second place but erased a point deficit following several conference record-breaking performances. The 49ers took over the sprints and hurdles where several athletes won titles and saw more great efforts in the field events on Sunday.
The women’s team who captured their second consecutive A-10 Indoor Champion title finished with a team score of 142.50. The Niners have dominated the conference indoor championships and collected a conference-leading seven titles.
Runner-up Rhode Island finished with a total of 89 points. Rounding out the standings was VCU (86.5), Dayton (76), Richmond (72), Duquesne (60), Saint Louis (55), Temple (52), Butler (39), Fordham (32), La Salle (24), Massachusetts (22.5), Saint Joseph’s (15), and Xavier (12.5).
The men won their fifth conference championship, their first since 2010. Charlotte finished with a team score of 190.50. Sunday’s dual title marks the fifth time that the Niners have swept the indoor championships.
Runner-up Rhode Island finished with 166 points. Rounding out the standings was Saint Joseph’s (78), Butler (68), La Salle (60), Fordham (58), VCU (52), Temple (34), Massachusetts (28.5), Xavier (21), Saint Louis (15), and Richmond (9).
Charlotte, who is moving to Conference USA next season left its mark on the Atlantic 10 as it finished with a total of six conference records, 13 titles, and 24 All-A-10 team honors. Individuals who finished in the top two received first and second team honors. 
Coach Robert Olesen was named the Coach of the Year for both the men’s and women’s team. He has achieved that honor nine times during the indoor season since Charlotte joined the A-10.
"It was an amazing weekend, 48 hours of adrenaline and excitement in pursuit of simultaneous championships," Olesen said. "It’s very gratifying to end our A10 indoor participation with these victories.  The competitive environment provided by the conference teams and the longtime host of the indoor championship meet URI is much appreciated."
Joann Blakney was named the Most Outstanding Track Performer for the second straight year. Blakney won a pair of titles on the final day of the championship to finish with three total. The multi-talented Blakney won the 60m (7.47) and the 200m (24.35). On Saturday, she won the long jump (19’7.5).
Alvonna Blakney was tabbed as the Most Outstanding Rookie Performer. Blakney won the 60m hurdles with a season-best time of 8.59.
Cordell Livingston, who was named the Most Outstanding Field Performer, picked up his second title on Sunday in the 60m hurdles with an A-10 record time of 7.95. On Saturday, Livingston also set a conference record in the long jump (24’5) en route to a first place finish.
Chris Tate was tabbed as the Most Outstanding Rookie Performer and won the 400m title (48.79). His time is fifth on the all-time Charlotte list.
Jake Deaton set a school and conference record after winning the shot put with a toss of 60’10.5. Deaton held the previous Charlotte record of 59’2.75 which he set earlier in the season. 
T’Sheila Mungo, who has had a brilliant indoor season also etched her name in the Atlantic 10 record book after winning the 500m title (1:11.50) and breaking her own previous record (1:12.68) set at last year’s championship. Mungo also finished fifth in the 200m (25.22).
Khyran Shank seized the men’s 60m title with a time of 6.86. In the preliminary round on Saturday, Shank set an A-10 record in the 60m (6.85).
Anthony Bynum took home the gold medal in the 200m with a time of 21.74.
In the high jump, Trey McRae cleared 6’11.5 to win the event. His leap ranks second on the Charlotte all-time list. Anthony Campbell was the triple jump champion with a leap of 50’8 which is second on the 49ers’ all-time list. McRae finished fifth (47’3.75).
Toby Jo Klauenberg set a school record in the shot put with a toss of 46’8.75 to to shatter a 13-year old record by over three feet to earn All-A10 Second Team honors. 
Also earning All-Atlantic 10 Second Team honors were LeRoy Rouse, Briauna Jones, Sean Kluttz, and Livingston. 
Jones finished second in both the triple jump with a personal-best leap of 40’11 which is second on the Charlotte all-time list and 60m (7.59). 
Rouse was second in the 60m (6.87). Kluttz was the runner-up in the 800m (1:54.08) as well as Livingston in the triple jump (49’8.5). 
Several Niners picked up third place finishes. Juanito Leto, who set a conference record in the 60m hurdles preliminary round on Saturday, finished third in the finals (8.67).
In the 60m, Anthony Bynum was the second runner-up with a time of 6.88.
Brian Hamilton took third in the 400m (49.53), as well as Maraya Slatter in the 800m 2:14.20, and Will Thomas in the high jump (6’8.25). Thomas’s jump is tied fifth on the Charlotte all-time list.  
The relay teams all finished third. The 4x800m team (Christian Norbye, Nicholas Rotz, Michael Tamayo, and Kluttz) finished with a time of 7:43.96 which is fourth on the all-time chart.
The 4x400m team (Brian Hamilton, Livingston, Bynum, and Tate) clocked a time of 3:20.15. The women’s 4x400m team (Slatter, Taylor Carcella, LeAnna Morrison, and Mungo) finished with a time of 3:52.33. 
Other notable performances included Morgan Richards’ fourth place finish in the mile (5:01.30) which is ninth on the all-time list. Norbye was also fourth in the 800m (1:55.08) as well as Rachel Miller in the 800m (2:14.43).
“Everyone put in a great effort from those who won events to those who just missed the scoring places," explained Olesen. "All of that individual effort and the team energy it generated gave us the edge we needed to keep coming back strong in each event throughout the two days making up for a few points that may have been lost unexpectedly here or there and picking up points we didn’t expect with some real breakthrough championship performances."
The Niners have a few weeks off until its next meet on Friday, Mar. 1 where they will be competing at separate events. 
“Thanks to the student-athletes and staff for all of their hard work and dedication and to the administration, family and fans for their support helping make these last two indoor A10 championships successful and memorable," said Olesen.