The Charlotte 49ers placed two student-athletes on the 2012 Atlantic 10 Conference All-Conference teams, the league announced today. The league's batting champ, redshirt senior Shane Brown (Davidson, N.C. / North Mecklenburg HS) was named to the first team, while Charlotte's RBI leader, Shane Basen (Waxhaw, N.C. / Marvin Ridge HS) landed on the second team.

Additionally, freshman outfielder Leland Clemmons (Chesapeake, Va. / Portsmouth Christian HS) was honored on the All-Rookie Team.

Basen and junior designated hitter Corbin Shive (Salisbury, N.C. / East Rowan HS) were named to the 12-member Academic All-Conference Team.

Brown earned Charlotte's second batting crown on the final day of the regular season. He recorded his 70th hit of the season on the final day to finish the year at .365, joining current assistant coach Kris Rochelle as the two 49ers who took the A-10's batting title for Charlotte.

Basen led the league with five triples and finished fourth with a team-high 45 RBI, including 23 in A-10 games, the second-highest total for any single player in league games.

Clemmons led the team with a .338 batting average in A-10 games and scored a team-best 19 runs in league games this season. Clemmons finished the year with a .280 average, scoring 25 total runs. His average and eight doubles were the second-most on the league's All-Rookie squad, while his three homers were tied for the most of any rookie on the squad.

Basen led the 49ers with a 3.958 grade point average as an accounting major. Already with a Capitol One Academic All-District Three honor, he was named to the Academic All-Conference Team in 2011. Basen has been on the Chancellor's List in each of his previous five semesters as a student-athlete. Shive is a four-time member of the Chancellor's List and led the 49ers with seven homers and 30 walks in 2012. He has posted a GPA of 3.80 in accounting to this point of his collegiate career.

Charlotte has won the regular season A-10 title in four of the seven years of league membership, twice winning back-to-back crowns (2007-08 and 2010-11) while a member of the conference.