CHARLOTTE, N.C. - The Charlotte 49ers Athletic Department held its annual All-Sports Banquet in the Charles Hayward Memorial Gymnasium on Wednesday, May 5th. The Banquet recognized each of Charlotte's 14 varsity programs as well as the spirit squads, while Most Valuable Player and other awards were given out to specific athletes.

The night started off with Hailey Beam winning the MVP for women's soccer. Beam, a first team academic all-America, was named the A-10 Student-Athlete of the Year for the second-straight season, while she completed her career with 36 goals, matching the 49ers all-time school record.

For men's soccer, Isaac Caughran was awarded with the David Schlee Memorial Award, which is given to a men's soccer player who best exemplifies Schlee's desire to succeed. Luke Exley won the team's MVP award as the senior midfielder, a second-team all-A-10 choice, scored five goals and tallied six assists to help lead the Niners to their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1997.

Seniors Jenn Webb and Kaitlin Knight were awarded with volleyball's coaches award and MVP awards, respectively. Knight moved to the libero position this season and picked up 462 digs, good for 7th place on the 49ers single-season charts, while Webb topped the team with a .245 hitting pct.

Dakota Lowery and Keara Thomas both won the Vincent Vernitsky Memorial Award for men's and women's track & field and cross country teams, while Amanda Goetschius and Adu Dentamo earned the cross country MVP honors. Goetschius and Dentamo both earned all-Atlantic 10 and all-NCAA Southeast Region honors for their performances on the course.

Darius Law and Pat Springs were named MVPs of the 2009 Outdoor season, since the 2010 season is still underway, as the duo both competed in the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Springs was tabbed as a NCAA All-American for her 10th place performance in the long jump, while Law competed in his first NCAA Outdoor Championship placing 14th in the 400m dash.

Law's and Goetschius' were called again as the duo were recognized as the MVPs of the 2010 Indoor track season. Both earned all-American status on March 12th coming in the 400m dash and 5,000m run. The all-America honors were the first of both's career.

On the Cheerleading and Gold Dusters squads, Robyn Fisher and Rebekkah Grossman were tabbed as MVPs.

For men's basketball, Ian Andersen and Shamari Spears were named the Charles Hayward Memorial Grubstake and Most Valuable Player award winners. A senior, Andersen finished his Charlotte career in 7th place all-time with 195 career three-pointers made. Spears led the 49ers with a 16.0 scoring average that included a team-best nine games with 20 or more points. He was also named third-team all-Atlantic 10 by the league's coaches and was a second-team NABC all-District 4 selection.

On the women's side of basketball, Erin Floyd accepted the Gold Nugget Award, while Shannon McCallum was named the team MVP. Floyd, along with three other seniors, graduated as a part of one of the most successful classes in school history, making four post-season trips, winning nearly 20 games a season and grabbing an A-10 Tournament title and NCAA Tournament bid along the way. McCallum, the 2009 A-10 Sixth Player of the Year, led the 49ers in scoring, rebounding, steals and blocks.

Jesse Hutchinson, Anna Ekelund and Andrea Rivera were honored for men's and women's tennis. Hutchinson picked up MVP for men's tennis as he posted a 14-14 record, including a 13-8 mark in dual match play. Ekelund won the Wendi Cook Memorial Award, while Rivera was tabbed as the team MVP as the lone player to reach 10 singles wins in the spring dual match season.

Similar to the outdoor track season; golf, baseball and softball awarded MVPs for the 2009 season since the 2010 season is still underway.

Cory Nagy, a three-time All-America, won the golf MVP award as he won the 2009 Atlantic 10 Individual title en route to picking up his third NCAA All-America honor. Rob Lyerly, the 2009 baseball MVP, ended the 2009 season with a 25-game hitting streak en route to a .401 batting average to lead the team and was selected in the sixth round of the MLB Draft by the New York Yankees.

The final MVP award, also for 2009, was given to Emily Jeffery the record-setting pitcher for softball. In the 2009 season, Jeffery set the single-season mark for strikeouts with 294, shutouts at nine and posted the third-best win total from her 23-9 record. 

The Hugh McEniry and Bonnie Cone Awards were the final awards given out on the night and are awarded to the respective male and female student-athletes who have posted the highest GPA over the previous two semesters - which would be the 2009 spring and 2009 fall semesters. All four of the recipients posted perfect 4.0 GPA's over that time period.

Darius Law and Macey Ruble, both track & field student-athletes were named the Hugh McEniry recipients, while the Bonnie Cone Award went to cross country and track & field student-athlete Laura McCary and from women's soccer, Megan Minnix.

List of Award Winners:
Women's Soccer Most Valuable Player (2009): Hailey Beam
Men's Soccer David Schlee Memorial Award (2009): Isaac Caughran
Men's Soccer Most Valuable Player (2009): Luke Exley
Volleyball Coach's Award (2009): Jenn Webb
Volleyball Most Valuable Player (2009): Kaitlin Knight
Men's Track and Field/Cross Country Vincent Vernitsky Memorial Award (2009): Dakota Lowery
Men's Cross Country Most Valuable Performer (2009): Adu Dentamo
Women's Track and Field/Cross Country Vincent Vernitsky Memorial Award (2009): Keara Thomas
Women's Cross Country Most Valuable Performer (2009): Amanda Goetschius
Women's Indoor Track and Field Most Valuable Performer (2010): Amanda Goetschius
Men's Indoor Track and Field Most Valuable Performer (2010): Darius Law
Men's Outdoor Track and Field Most Valuable Performer (2009): Darius Law
Women's Outdoor Track and Field Most Valuable Performer (2009): Pat Springs
Cheerleaders 2009-2010 Cheerleading MVP: Robyn Fisher
Gold Dusters Most Valuable Performer (2009-2010): Rebekkah Grossman
Men's Basketball Charles Hayward Memorial Grubstake Award (2009-10): Ian Andersen
Men's Basketball Most Valuable Player (2009-2010): Shamari Spears
Women's Basketball Gold Nugget Award (2009-2010): Erin Floyd
Women's Basketball Most Valuable Player (2009-2010): Shannon McCallum
Men's Tennis Most Valuable Player (2009-2010): Jesse Hutchinson
Women's Tennis Wendi Cook Memorial Award (2009-2010): Anna Ekelund
Women's Tennis Most Valuable Player (2009-2010): Andrea Rivera
Golf Most Valuable Player (2008-2009): Corey Nagy
Baseball Most Valuable Player (2009): Rob Lyerly
Softball Most Valuable Player (2009): Emily Jeffery
Academic Support Hugh McEniry (2010): Darius Law and Macey Ruble
Student Athlete Bonnie E.Cone Award (2010): Megan Minnix and Laura McCary