spacer   My Account for spacer

KANSAS CITY, MO—ODU senior forward Gideon Asante (Sunyani, Ghana) are among 34 players selected to the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy watch list for 2013 as released by the NSCAA.   The MAC Hermann trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer presented annually in January at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Last season, Asante earned third team All-Conference honors and has been an All-Conference selection for three consecutive seasons.  In 2011, Asante earned first team All-Conference and NSCAA All-South Region honors. He enters the 2013 season with 13 career goals, 14 career assists and 40 total points. Asante was on the watch list in 2011.

The Monarchs will play against nine of the players selected including Coastal Carolina’s Pedro Ribeiro in tomorrow’s exhibition match while four players (Kyle Venter of New Mexico; Omar Mata and Christian Mata of Tulsa; Tyler Gibson & Giuseppe Gentile of Charlotte) compete for C-USA teams.  

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, as they will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist starting in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

From that pool of 30, six finalists (three men, three women) will be chosen for the award. The winners will be announced in January 10, 2014.


Returning Customers
Monarch Media users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.