NORFOLK, Va., Oct. 23, 2019—The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) and Delaware State will host the 2019 Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships on Saturday, Oct. 26 at the Delaware State University Outreach and Research Center in Smyrna, Del.

The championships will begin with the women’s five-kilometer (5K) race at 11 a.m., with the men’s eight-kilometer (8K) race following at 12 p.m. The top 15 finishers in each race will be named All-MEAC.

On the women’s side, Florida A&M is looking for its unprecedented eighth straight championship, while Norfolk State’s Martha Bissah is looking to repeat as individual champion after having won individual gold each of the last two years. Bissah currently holds the fastest 5K time in the MEAC at 17:52.9.

The North Carolina A&T State men claimed their first MEAC cross country crown since 1983 last season, placing three runners in the top 10, while Carlin Berryhill of Bethune-Cookman earned individual gold in chilly, soggy conditions. Norfolk State holds the top two 8K times in the conference this season; Meshack Kipchirchir at 24:51.1 – the only time under 25 minutes in the MEAC – and Evans Cheruiyot at 25:01.0.

In recognition of Breast Cancer Awareness month, MEAC student-athletes will wear pink racing bibs and head coaches will wear pink ribbon pins during the championships. The MEAC also encourages fans to wear pink in support of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

On Saturday morning, the MEAC will team up with Delaware State to recognize breast cancer survivors and to remember those we’ve lost with a balloon launch. The festivities will begin at 10 a.m. at the pavilion adjacent to the course.

Donations will go to the American Cancer Society and the Delaware State University Department of Athletics.

The 2019 MEAC Cross Country Championships are free and open to the public.

The Delaware State University Outreach and Research Center is located at 884 Smyrna-Leipsic Road in Smyrna, Del.

For complete men’s and women’s cross country championship information, visit Championship Central at

About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) begins its 49th year of intercollegiate competition heading into the 2019-20 academic school year. Located in Norfolk, Va., the MEAC is made up of 11 outstanding historically black institutions across the Atlantic coastline: Bethune-Cookman University, Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Florida A&M University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.

Delaware State women's cross country