Norfolk, Va. (Nov. 26, 2019) ---  Delaware State defensive lineman Brandon Carswell (gr.)  has been named to the 2019 All Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference First Team in voting by league head coaches and sports information representatives announced today. Carswell, the only Hornet selected to this year's all-conference first team, is the first DSU lineman to earn the distinction since Gabe Sherrod in 2015.  

Delaware State offensive lineman Kaiden Crawford (jr.) and placekicker Jose Romo-Martinez (r-so.) were named to the 2019 All-MEAC Second Team, while DSU lineman Christian Johnson (gr.), linebacker Brooks Parker (so.) and safety Jahad Neibauer (sr.) were third team selections.

Carswell, in his first season with the Hornets after three years at Savannah State, was tops on the Hornets and third in the MEAC with 1.3 tackles for loss per game (15.5 total). He also ranked ninth in the league with 4.5 sacks and was among the nation’s leaders in blocked kicks during the 2019 season.

Carswell was an All-MEAC Third Team selection in 2017 while at Savannah State.

Crawford was a preseason All-MEAC First Team pick. This season, he helped pave the way to the Hornets’ No. 5 MEAC ranking in rushing yards at 140.8 per game. Delaware State rushers had five 100-yard games this season, including three by Thomas Bertrand-Hudon (r-fr.). Richard Harris (jr.) and Bryant Dallas (sr.) also cracked the century mark in a game for the Hornets this year.

Romo-Martinez, a preseason All-MEAC Second Team selection, was second in the conference with a 96% point after touchdown percentage, connecting on 24 of his 25 kicks. He also connected on 11 of 14 field goal attempts this season (78.6%), with two beyond 40 yards (long 45).  Romo-Martinez also averaged 37.0 yards on 46 punts this year.    

Johnson was a 2019 preseason All-MEAC Second Team selection. He was second among Hornet defensive linemen with 40 tackles (25 solo), including 3.5 behind the line of scrimmage and two sacks.

Parker was tops on the Hornets and 24th in the MEAC in tackles at 4.8 per game (58 total) in 2019. He was also 10th in the league with 10.5 tackles for loss (0.88 pg) this season.

Neibauer was second on the team with 50 tackles. A preseason All-MEAC First Team selection, he also recorded 6.0 tackles for loss, an interception and 75-yard return, a 26-yard fumble return and a blocked kick this year.  

South Carolina State’s Buddy Pough was selected by his peers as 2019 MEAC Coach-of-the-Year; SC State quarterback Corey Fields is the league’s Rookie-of-the-Year, while NCA&T senior Marcus Pettiford was chosen as the conference Offensive Lineman-of-the-Year.

In a partnership with the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame, the league’s Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year will be announced as part of the festivities surrounding the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner next month in New York City.

Delaware State football