ODU Women's Tennis Sends Two to NCAA Championships

May 06, 2010
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 6, 2010

NORFOLK, Va. -- The NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee announced the selection of 64 singles players and 32 doubles teams to the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships, including ODU's Nadine Fahoum (Haifa, Israel) and Joanna Dobrowolska (Warsaw, Poland).

"This is a great accomplishment for our program to qualify for the NCAA individual tournament in two categories. Assistant Coach Nataly Fleishman's NCAA and world class experience has been a great asset in developing Nadine and Joanna's game. Nadine continues to add to her long list of accomplishments at Old Dominion University and the future is even brighter," ODU Tennis Director Darryl Cummings said.

Fahoum, ranked 25th in the nation, will play in the singles tournament after posting one of the finest seasons in ODU women's tennis history. She ranked as high as 13th in the nation this season, going 37-5 in singles action including a win of the ITA Atlantic Regional Tournament this fall. She went 22-2 this spring with her only losses coming to top 40 players. She was named Co-CAA Player of the Year and was a First Team All-CAA selection in both singles and doubles.

For the second year in a row, Fahoum will also compete in the NCAA Doubles Tournament. This year, Joanna Dobrowolska will pair with Fahoum as the Colonial Athletic Association's automatic qualifier into the event. The tandem ranks 52nd in the nation, pairing for 11 dual victories this spring and a 17-7 overall record in 2009-10. Fahoum and Dobrowolska were named to the league's First Team All-Conference squad last month.

The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 26-31 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, following the conclusion of the team championship, as the University of Georgia will play host. All matches will be the best of three sets, including regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games.

Tickets are available at www.georgiadogs.com. Stay tuned to odusports.com for more information as the Lady Monarchs represent Old Dominion University on the national stage.

2010 Nadine Fahoum (women's singles), Nadine Fahoum/Johanna Dobrowolska (women's doubles)
2009 Aleksandr/Seleznev (men's singles) Aleksandr Seleznev/Tobias Fanselow (men's doubles), Charleen Haarhoff/Nadine Fahoum (women's doubles)
2007 Harel Srugo (men's singles) Henrique Cancado (men's singles), Harel Srugo/Henrique Cancado (men's doubles)
2006 Harel Srugo (men's singles), Harel Srugo/Aleksandr Seleznev (men's doubles)
2005 Izak van der Merwe (men's singles)
2004 Izak van der Merwe (men's singles), Izak van der Merwe/Zoltan Csanadi (men's doubles), Nataly Cahana (women's singles)
2003 Izak van der Merwe/Zoltan Csanadi (men's doubles), Nataly Cahana (women's singles)
2002 Nataly Cahana (women's singles)
2001 Nataly Cahana (women's singles), Ana Radeljevic (women's singles), Nataly Cahana/Ana Radeljevic (women's doubles)