2015 Camps

Men's Squash History

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 08/07/2014
Print RSS

Princeton began playing men's squash in 1931, and it has developed into one of the most historic programs in the sport. The Tigers have achieved significant success on both the individual and team levels, and over the last decade, has produced both the greatest individual player in the sport and arguably its most historic victory.

That victory was the 2012 national team championship over Trinity, which ended a 13-year championship streak for the Bantams. Princeton was down 4-2 in the match before sweeping the final shift; read more about the match here.

As for the individual standout, only one player has won four individual national championships: Yasser El Halaby. He won every national title between 2003-06, and didn't lose a single game in any of the three finals; read more about El Halaby's career here, when he was voted Princeton's Male Athlete of the Decade.

Princeton has also had a history of successful coaches, including several who won multiple national championships. Both a College Hall of Fame and US Squash Hall of Fame inductee, Bob Callahan (who retired following the 2013 Ivy League championship season) won more matches (316) and Ivy titles (11) than any coach in program history. He won a national title as a senior captain in 1977, and he finished his career with back-to-back Ivy titles (2012-13) and the memorable 2012 national title. Read more about Callahan here.

John Conroy, who coached for three decades (1940-69), won 180 matches and the program's first Ivy League title (1957), and he is also an inductee in the College Squash Hall of Fame.

Below are more facts and figures about the legacy of Princeton men's squash.

Ivy League Championships (18): 1957, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1989, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013

Ivy League Players of the Year (14): Jeff Stanley (1987, 1988), Peter Yik (1999, 2000), Davik Yik (2001), Will Evans (2002), Yasser El Halaby (2003, 2004, 2005), Mauricio Sanchez (2007, 2008, 2009), Todd Harrity (2011, 2013)

Ivy League Rookies of the Year (12): Jeff Stanley (1986), Rick Hartigan (1992), Jack Wyant (1993), Peter Yik (1997), Peter Kelly (1999), David Yik (2000), Yasser El Halaby (2003), Robert Hong (2005), Mauricio Sanchez (2006), David Letourneau (2008), Chris Callis (2009), Todd Harrity (2010), Vivek Dinodia (2013)

Intercollegiate Squash Association (ISA) Nine-Man Team Championships (11): 1942, 1955, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1993, 2012.

ISA Tournament Six-Man Team Championships (6): 1959, 1960, 1976, 1978, 1979, 1988.

Individual Championships (20): William Foulke (1933); Stanley Pearson (1939); Charles Brinton (1941, 1942); Roger Campbell (1954, 1955); Stephen Vehslage (1959, 1960, 1961); John Nimick (1981); Jeff Stanley (1987, 1988), Peter Yik (1999, 2000), David Yik (2001), Yasser El Halaby (2003, 2004, 2005, 2006), Todd Harrity (2011)

Quick Facts:

•  From the 1973-74 season through 1983-84 the team won 108 matches and lost only five — four of them to Harvard. During the stretch the Tigers amassed a 43-match winning streak and compiled a winning percentage of .956.

•  Jeff Stanley ’89 accomplished the impressive feat of winning the national collegiate and amateur championships in the same year (1987). Another notable Princeton squash player is Stephen Vehslage ’61, who captured three intercollegiate singles titles (1959-61).

•  Tom Shepherd ’86, Jeff Stanley ’89, Chris Stevens ’91, Jack Wyant ’96, Will Evans '03, David Yik '03, Yasser El Halaby '06, Mauricio Sanchez '09, Kimlee Wong '09 and Todd Harrity '13 were each four-time All-Ivy League selections. Sanchez and Wong led Princeton to its first run of four straight Ivy League championships (2006-2009)

•  Current head coach Bob Callahan ’77 was himself a standout at Old Nassau. Callahan captained the Tigers in his senior year and won the national ’C’ Division crown that year, earning All-America status for the second year in a row.

•  Yasser El Halaby graduated in 2006 as the only male collegiate player to win all four intercollegiate singles championships during his career. In four finals, he was 4-0 and didn't lose a single game (he went 60-4 in games over the four years). He became the first Princeton player to be named Ivy League Rookie of the Year and Ivy League Player of the Year in the same season (2002-03).

• Princeton ended Trinity's 13-year reign as national champion on Feb. 19, 2012, when it defeated the Bantams 5-4 in the CSA team final. Princeton trailed 4-2 in the final shift, but wins from Dylan Ward and Todd Harrity evened the match. In front of a packed crowd on Court 3, senior co-captain Kelly Shannon defeated Reinhold Hergeth 13-11, 11-8, 11-9 to win Princeton's 11th national team title.

• Bob Callahan retired as head coach following the 2012-13 season. During his Hall of Fame career, he led Princeton to 316 victories, 11 Ivy League titles, and national championships in 1982, 1993 and 2012. He coached the individual national champion 10 times, including the 2011 championship by Todd Harrity, the 2013 Ivy League Co-Player of the Year. Princeton also won the 1988 National Six Man team championship. He was elected to both the U.S. Squash Hall of Fame and the College Squash Hall of Fame.







Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future