Default Header

New Basketball Postseason Format Approved

LSU Alexandria - 2018 tournament

The National Administrative Council (NAC) finalized approval of a men's and women's basketball postseason tournament format which will include 64 qualifiers, 16 four-team opening rounds and a 16-team final site tournament. This decision comes after the Council of Presidents (COP) approval in April 2018 to move to a single division in both men's and women's basketball, effective for the 2020-21 academic year. The COP also charged the NAC with development and approval of the tournament format.

The final format comes after the Divisions in Basketball Task Force nearly two-year review and recommendation for a single basketball division with potential formats. The NAC Championship sub-committee reviewed all information and data and presented the recommended format which was approved by the full NAC body. 

The rationale behind the NAC's decision was that a 64 qualifier/16-team final site tournament will offer a superior student-athlete experience, as well as provide the best opportunity for cost savings and team travel reimbursement. This format also retains the same amount of national qualifiers as it did for the current two-division format.

"This is a watershed moment for our organization," said NAC Chair Robert Cashell. "The membership owes a thank you to the original task force that came forward with recommendations and the NAC Championships Subcommittee for their deliberate and thoughtful approach to this change."

"I believe the format will provide a special student-athlete experience and continue the NAIA's tradition of offering unique championship opportunities for both men's and women's basketball."