Article Image

2016 CofC Athletics Hall of Fame Class Announced

          Release: 12/08/2015
Print RSS
Share |
Related Links

CHARLESTON, S.C. – The 2016 College of Charleston Athletics Hall of Fame Class has been selected and includes two former student-athletes and one former head coach.

This year’s induction class includes former men’s basketball star and two-time Academic All-American Jody Lumpkin (1999-2001), two-time All-American sailor Steven Daniels Hunt (1994-98) and former baseball head coach John Pawlowski (1999-2008).

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be held on Saturday, Jan. 23, 2016, at 10:30 a.m. (ET) in the McAlister Hospitality Suite located on the third floor of TD Arena. Tickets to the brunch can be purchased for $20. To make your reservation(s), please RSVP by Jan. 15, to Terri Mattie at: (843) 953-8254 or


(Class of ’98)

Since stepping foot in a 420 for the first time at College of Charleston, team racing has been a critical part of Hunt’s collegiate and professional sailing career. His rise in his position on the sailing team was impressive from 1994-98. After starting the first day of practice ranked 15th of 15 on the team, he went on to become a two-time ICSA All-American in 1997 and 1998, won A-Division in his final Coed National Championship regatta, placed second at the 1998 ICSA Team Race National Championship and finished second at Sloop Nationals. Hunt was awarded the team’s Most Improved Award and the Cougars were ranked No. 1 in the nation during the majority of his senior year, due in part to his amazing results. As a professional sailor, Hunt has achieved incredible international success. After graduating from The College in 1998 with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and business administration, the San Diego, Calif., native, continued his passion for the sport by focusing on an Olympic campaign in the highly-competitive 470 class. He won both the U.S. and German Nationals and placed third at the U.S. Olympic Trials in 1999. Perhaps the most impressive part of his career has been his devotion to the sport through teaching young sailors and improving their talents. Hunt has become the most sought after coach in the country for many racing teams, Olympic programs and winning high school programs. He was named U.S. National Coach of the Year in 2013.

JODY LUMPKIN (1999-2001)

(Class of ’00)

Named Southern Conference Player of the Year in 2001, Lumpkin averaged 17.1 points and 7.9 rebounds per game as College of Charleston compiled a 22-7 overall record. It marked the highest scoring average since the Cougars moved to NCAA Division I in 1991-92. Lumpkin was a member of the 1998-99 team which went an undefeated 19-0 in conference play (regular season and postseason combined) and finished No. 16 nationally in the final Associated Press Top 25 Poll. He is one of only seven players on eight occasions in school history to be selected as conference player of the year. Lumpkin led the Cougars to three-consecutive SoCon regular-season championship titles in 1999, 2000 and 2001 and a NCAA Tournament appearance in 1999. An All-SoCon Team selection by the league’s coaches in 2000 and All-SoCon First Team selection by the league’s media in 2000 and 2001, he scored over 1,300 points and grabbed over 700 rebounds for his cumulative four-year career at both Rice and CofC. A dominant player  as well as a role model to young people, Lumpkin became the first men’s basketball player in school history to be named an Academic All-American in 1999 (second team) and 2000 (first team). He still ranks 18th all-time in career scoring (1,269 points), ninth all-time in career rebounding (710) and first all-time in career blocks (238). A four-year member of the CofC Honors program, the Columbia, S.C., native, graduated in 2000 with a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and history and a master’s degree in mathematics in 2001.

JOHN PAWLOWSKI (1999-2008)


John Pawlowski turned College of Charleston into a national and Southern Conference powerhouse during his nine seasons as the Cougars’ skipper, which included six seasons with at least 36 wins, three NCAA Regional appearances along with a Super Regional appearance in 2006. The three-time SoCon Coach of the Year finished his tenure at CofC as the all-time winningest coach in school history with 338 career victories. In a four-year stretch beginning in 2004, the Cougars earned a No. 12 final national ranking and established a SoCon record for most wins in a four-year span winning 73 percent of their games (180-67). “JP” also led CofC to SoCon regular-season titles in 2004, 2005 and 2007 as well as a SoCon Tournament title in 2006. A number of his players earned All-American honors and 32 of them signed professional contracts including current New York Yankees outfielder Brett Gardner and two-time SoCon Player of the Year Lee Curtis. Recruiting quality student-athletes with integrity on-and-off the field was a key ingredient to his remarkable baseball teams and success at The College from 1999-2008.


Steven Daniels Hunt – Sailing (Class of ’98)

Jody Lumpkin – Men’s Basketball (Class of ’00)

John Pawlowski – Baseball (Honorary)