Default Header

Women’s Soccer Modified Ratings Percentage Index – No. 2

October 23, 2013
By -, -

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – For the second-straight edition, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) earned the top spot in the NAIA Women’s Soccer Modified Ratings Percentage Index (MPRI), the national office announced Wednesday. This marks the sixth time since the MRPI was instituted in 2010 that the Blue Raiders have occupied the No. 1 position.

Only three teams have held the No. 1 ranking all-time in the MRPI: Lindsey Wilson (6), Concordia (Ore.) (3) and former member Lee (Tenn.) (3).

Rounding out the top five are No. 2 Westmont (Calif.), No. 3 Vanguard (Calif.), No. 4 Northwood (Fla.) and No. 5 Concordia (Ore.).

Graceland (Iowa) is the highest mentioned team – No. 22 – that was not ranked in the most recent NAIA Women’s Soccer Coaches’ Top 25 Poll. The Yellowjackets entered the week with a 9-4-3 overall record, but have not won a match since knocking off No. 30 St. Ambrose (Iowa) on Sept. 22.

The MRPI consists of the team’s modified winning percentage, their opponents’ winning percentage and the cumulative ratings points from the NAIA Women’s Soccer Coaches’ Top 25 Poll. Each of the three values has a weighted percentage calculated in the MRPI. The MRPI modifies the value of home/away/neutral results and adds more value for games against opponents ranked in their respective national poll.

For a complete description of the MRPI formula, go to Appendix C in the Women’s Soccer Coaches’ Manual, or click here.

The MRPI – first adopted in 2010 – will select the at-large qualifying teams and seed the 32-team national championship field. For a complete NAIA Women’s Soccer Modified Ratings Percentage Index calendar, click here. The next MRPI will be announced on Nov. 17.

For the complete MRPI, click here.

2013 NAIA Women’s Soccer Modified Ratings Percentage Index – No. 2 (Oct. 23)
Rank School MRPI
1 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) 0.918859
2 Westmont (Calif.) 0.889439
3 Vanguard (Calif.) 0.869702
4 Northwood (Fla.) 0.862749
5 Concordia (Ore.) 0.852974
6 Davenport (Mich.) 0.839263
7 Embry-Riddle (Fla.) 0.83054
8 Cumberland (Tenn.) 0.784279
9 Spring Arbor (Mich.) 0.776781
10 William Carey (Miss.) 0.77525
11 The Master's (Calif.) 0.763686
12 Martin Methodist (Tenn.) 0.762471
13 Concordia (Calif.) 0.753312
14 St. Thomas (Fla.) 0.72274
15 Judson (Ill.) 0.720672
16 Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) 0.68225
17 Brenau (Ga.) 0.680954
18 Avila (Mo.) 0.677938
19 Ashford (Iowa) 0.667884
20 Oklahoma City 0.655869
21 Texas at Brownsville 0.63816
22 Graceland (Iowa) 0.60147
23 Robert Morris (Ill.) 0.574118
24 Cal State San Marcos 0.565137
25 Kansas Wesleyan 0.560716
26 Viterbo (Wis.) 0.553387
27 Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) 0.543039
28 Campbellsville (Ky.) 0.540642
29 Missouri Valley 0.531884
30 St. Ambrose (Iowa) 0.526524

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football
Official Merchandise-Football