2015 Camps
Article Image
Ron Fogarty stands with the 2016-17 team captains.
Courtesy: Princeton Athletic Communications

Men's Hockey Honors Seniors, Announces Award Winners & Captains at Annual Banquet

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 04/20/2016
Print RSS

PRINCETON, N.J. (4/20/16) - The Princeton men's hockey team held its annual team banquet on Saturday at the Nassau Inn in Princeton. In addition to honoring the Class of 2016, annual awards were presented and captains were announced for the 2016-17 season.

Co-captains Michael Ambrosia, Kyle Rankin along with Kevin Liss and Michael Zajac were honored as the graduating Class of 2016.

Rankin was presented with the Richard E. Vaughan Cup. The Vaughan Cup is awarded to the varsity player who best exemplifies perseverance and dedication to Princeton Hockey. Rankin was a leader on and off the ice and was a huge part in helping instill a new culture in a young locker room. He played in all 31 games this season and finished with nine points.

The Tucker Ironman Award was given to sophomore Joe Grabowski. Presented to the member of the team who best exemplifies the Ironman spirit through his off-season preparation, commitment to conditioning and overall physical endurance. Grabowski played in 31 games on defense and finished the season with eight points.

Junior Colton Phinney was awarded the Blackwell Trophy for the second straight season. Awarded to the member of the team who in play, sportsmanship and influence has contributed most to the sport. Phinney started in all but one game this season and posted a 2.86 goals against average and a .924 save percentage – the second best save percentage in a season in program history. He set the program record for single saves in a season with 1058 and is now third in saves in a career with 2,450.

Junior Ryan Siiro was the recipient of the 1941 Championship Trophy  It is presented annually to that varsity player who best reflected the winning spirit of the 1941 championship team and in so doing was an inspiration to his teammates. Siiro scored 10 points in 31 games and was named the GoPrincetonTigers.com Athlete of the Week presented by Suburban Transit on Dec. 7 after scoring the game-winning goal at No. 10 Yale after netting a goal at Brown the night before.

The Hobey Baker Trophy, presented by John Cook '68, was given to Max Véronneau. The trophy is awarded annually to the team's freshman hockey player who, among his classmates, in play, sportsmanship and influence has contributed most to the sport, and has been handed out in each since 1950. Véronneau scored 11 goals on the season for a total of 17 points, just three behind ECAC All-Rookie Team award winner and linemate Ryan Kuffner.

Siiro was a near unanimous decision by his teammates to be team captain in 2016-17.  Assistant captains will be rising seniors Garrett Skrbich and Tommy Davis along with Grabowski.






Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future