Article Image
Courtesy: Charlotte Sports Information
View Photo
MVPs honored at 2016 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet

The Charlotte 49ers and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee held the 2016 Student-Athlete Awards Banquet in the Student Union on campus Wednesday night and presented team MVP and Coaches’ Awards as well as department-wide academic honors.

               The 49ers football program awarded its Offensive MVP to all-Conference USA rusher Kalif Phillips and its Defensive MVP to leading tackler Nick Cook while presenting the Jon Richardson Football Scholarship to defensive lineman Brandon Banks. Men’s Basketball presented its Most Valuable Player award to Conference USA’s leading rebounder Joseph Uchebo while senior all-Conference USA selection Alexis Alexander was named the women’s basketball MVP after leading the 49ers to the WNIT.  NCAA Tournament participant men’s soccer awarded its MVP to all-Southeast Region first team midfielder Brandt Bronico.  Four spring programs honored their 2015 award winners because the 2016 season still in action.

               Phillips, women’s soccer sophomore all-Central Region star Martha Thomas, men’s tennis’ all-time singles and doubles career wins leader Jordi Massalle-Ferrer and softball’s all-time pitching victories leader Lexi Betancourt (2014, 2015) were all named MVP’s for the second straight year.  Track and field star Taylor Carcella was named the 2016 Women’s Indoor Track MVP after earning the 2014 Outdoor Track MVP honor, last year.

               In addition to the athletic awards, the 49ers presented the Hugh McEniry and Bonnie Cone Awards to the student-athletes with the highest GPA over the past two semesters. The Hugh McEniry Award was awarded to football’s Lee McNeill.  The Bonnie Cone Award went to women’s track and field’s Erin Crissman.


MVP                                                             Sport                                                             Recipient

MVP (2015)                                                  Baseball                                                         Sean Geoghegan

MVP                                                              Men’s Basketball                                           Joseph Uchebo

MVP                                                              Women’s Basketball                                      Alexis Alexander

MVP                                                              Cheerleaders                                                  Natalia Barriga

MVP                                                              Men’s Cross Country                                     Mike Tamayo

MVP                                                              Women’s Cross Country                               Carolina Casin-Silva

Offensive MVP                                             Football                                                         Kalif Phillips

Defensive MVP                                             Football                                                         Nick Cook

Scout Team MVP                                          Football                                                         Juwan Foggie

MVP                                                              Gold Dusters Dance Team                             Jordan Justice

MVP                                                              Golf                                                               Seth Gandy

MVP                                                              Men’s Soccer                                                 Brandt Bronico

MVP                                                              Women’s Soccer                                           Martha Thomas

MVP (2015)                                                  Softball                                                          Lexi Betancourt

MVP                                                              Men’s Tennis                                                 Jordi Massalle Ferrer

MVP                                                              Women’s Tennis                                           Tai Martin

MVP                                                              Men’s Indoor Track and Field                       Stevan Veselinovic

MVP                                                              Women’s Indoor Track and Field                  Taylor Carcella

MVP (2015)                                                  Men’s Outdoor Track and Field                     K’Vonte Scott

MVP (2015)                                                  Women’s Outdoor Track and Field               Alvonna Blakney

MVP                                                              Volleyball                                                      Sarah McDonald

Special Awards                                            Sport                                                             Recipient

Jon Richardson Scholarship                          Football                                                        Brandon Banks

Hayward Grubstake Award                           Men’s Basketball                                           Cam Pappas

Gold Nugget Award                                      Women’s Basketball                                      Ny Jamison-Myers

Vincent Vernitsky Award                              Men’s Cross Country/Track and Field           Daniel Beamer

Vincent Vernitsky Award                              Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field      Ashleigh Handchen

David Schlee Award                                     Men’s Soccer                                                 Daniel Bruce

Wendi Cook Award                                      Women’s Tennis                                           Macy Vonderschmidt

Coaches Award                                             Volleyball                                                      Morgan Barker

Academic Awards                                        Sport                                                             Recipient

Hugh McEniry Award                                   Academics (male)                                          Lee McNeill, football

Bonnie Cone Award                            Academics (female)                                            Erin Crissman, track and field