Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Eaton, Smalley Earn PING, Golfweek All-America Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/22/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Duke men’s golfers Alex Smalley and Chandler Eaton have earned All-America honors for the 2018-19 season, each selected to the PING and Golfweek All-America Team that were announced this week. It is the second straight season each has earned All-America recognition.

It is just the fifth time in program history with multiple All-American honorees (1990, 2004, 2005, 2018, 2019). The duo were each Second Team honorees on the Golfweek All-America Team, while Smalley was named to the PING Second Team, with Eaton named Third Team. 

Smalley, a recent Duke graduate from Wake Forest, N.C., led Duke with a regular-season record 70.35 stroke average, while posting eight top-10 and six top-5 finishes in 12 tournaments this year. He earned PING All-Region honors for the fourth straight year and graduated as the Blue Devils’ career scoring leader with a 71.32 career average in 49 tournaments. The ACC Scholar Athlete of the Year and All-ACC selection ranked No. 7 in the nation according to Golfstat and No. 20 according to Golfweek in the postseason rankings.

A two-time All-ACC selection who is fresh of making the cut at the U.S. Open, Eaton competed in 12 tournaments for Duke during the 2018-19 season and posted a 70.71 stroke average – second-lowest in a season at Duke behind Smallley. He won the prestigious Nike Collegiate Invitational, and posted three top-5 and six top-10 finishes. The rising senior from Alpharetta, Ga., was Duke’s leading finisher at the NCAA Championship with a t-15th for the second consecutive season.

Eaton and Smalley become just the seventh and eighth in program history to become a multiple All-America honoree, joining Bill Mallon (1972, 1973), Chuck Taylor (1984, 1985), Matt Krauss (1999, 2000), Blaum (2004, 2005, 2006), Schachner (2005, 2007) and Brinson Paolini (2011, 2013).

2019 Golfweek All-America Team

First Team
Steven Fisk (Georgia Southern)
Will Gordon (Vanderbilt)
Cole Hammer (Texas)
Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State)
Collin Morikawa (California)
Bryson Nimmer (Clemson)
John Pak (Florida St)
Justin Suh (USC)
Matthew Wolff (Oklahoma State)
Chun-An Yu (Arizona State)

Second Team
John Augenstein (Vanderbilt)
Chandler Eaton (Duke)
Austin Eckroat (Oklahoma State)
Stefano Mazzoli (TCU)
Chandler Phillips (Texas A&M)
Trent Phillips (Georgia)
Isaiah Salinda (Stanford)
Sandy Scott (Texas Tech)
Alex Smalley (Duke)
Brandon Wu (Stanford)

Third Team
Albin Bergstrom (USF-Bulls)
Stephen Franken (NC State)
Phillip Knowles (North Florida)
Peter Kuest (BYU)
Patrick Martin (Vanderbilt)
McClure Meissner (SMU)
Andy Ogletree (Georgia Tech)
Luke Schniederjans (Georgia Tech)
Scott Stevens (South Carolina)
Cameron Young (Wake Forest)

Honorable Mention
Zach Bauchou (Oklahoma State)
Eric Bae (Wake Forest)
Riley Casey (Oklahoma)
Steven Chervony (Texas)
Pierceson Coody (Texas)
Quade Cummins (Oklahoma)
Blake Elliott (McNeese St)
Michael Feagles (Illinois)
Noah Goodwin (SMU)
Tripp Kinney (Iowa State)
K.K. Limbhasut (California)
Will Miles (South Carolina)
Kaito Onishi (USC)
Spencer Ralston (Georgia)
Garett Reband (Oklahoma)
Jovan Rebula (Auburn)
Matthias Schmid (Louisville)
David Snyder (Stanford)
Davis Thompson (Georgia)
Trevor Werbylo (Arizona)

2019 PING All-America Team

First Team
Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Cole Hammer, Texas
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
Collin Morikawa, California
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson
John Pak, Florida State
Justin Suh, Southern California
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State
Chun An Yu, Arizona State

Second Team
Peter Kuest, BYU
Andy Ogletree, Georgia Tech
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Trent Phillips, Georgia
Isaiah Salinda, Stanford
Matthias Schmid, Louisville
Sandy Scott, Texas Tech
Alex Smalley, Duke
Brandon Wu, Stanford
Cameron Young, Wake Forest

Third Team
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
Chandler Eaton, Duke
Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State
Blake Elliott, McNeese State
Philip Knowles, North Florida
Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt
Stefano Mazzoli, TCU
Mac Meissner, SMU
Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Scott Stevens, South Carolina

Honorable Mention
Eric Bae, Wake Forest
Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State
Albin Bergstrom, USF
Ervin Chang, Liberty
Steven Chervony, Texas
Parker Coody, Texas
Pierceson Coody, Texas
Kyle Cottam, Clemson
Sebastian Crampton, California
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma
Lee Detmer, Wake Forest
Kyler Dunkle, Utah
Michael Feagles, Illinois
Alex Fitzpatrick, Wake Forest
Stephen Franken, NC State
Noah Goodwin, SMU
Austin Hitt, North Carolina
Tripp Kinney, Iowa State
Gabe Lench, Liberty
KK Limbhasut, California
Kaito Onishi, Southern California
Spencer Ralston, Georgia
Rhett Rasmussen, BYU
Garret Reband, Oklahoma
Jovan Rebula, Auburn
Billy Tom Sargent, Western Kentucky
Henry Shimp, Stanford
Benjamin Shipp, NC State
David Snyder, Stanford
Davis Thompson, Georgia
Patrick Welch, Oklahoma
Trevor Werbylo, Arizona