Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Three Blue Devils Garner All-ACC Academic Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/31/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Three members of the Duke cross country team, including one from the women’s squad and two from the men’s team, received All-ACC Academic honors, as announced by the conference office Thursday afternoon.

The Blue Devils were represented by senior Nikhil Pulimood and sophomores Michaela Reinhart and Josh Romine. Pulimood appears on the All-Academic list for the third time in his career after garnering the accolade in 2016 and 2017. Reinhart joins Pulimood for the second-consecutive season on the list while Romine earns the honor for the first time in his career.

Pulimood helped pace the men’s contingent that placed first at the Roy Griak Invitational with his second-place finish in the 8k in a time of 24:50.7 while Romine notched 10th overall at the Elon Opener to start the season with a second-place team finish with his time of 19:01. Romine and Pulimood also traveled to the NCAA Southeast Regional Championships where they closed the season. Romine earned his first first-place finish for Duke this season, where he posted a time of 31:13.7 to finish 47th overall while Pulimood battled back to clock a time of 32:09 after going down early in the race to finish 99th overall.

Reinhart capped her sophomore year by traveling to the NCAA Southeast Regional Championships and finished 20th overall with a time of 20:34.2, marking the 10th-consecutive race of her career that she’s finished among Duke’s top-two runners. With her performance, Reinhart captured All-Region honors alongside teammate Gabrielle Richichi, which marked the first All-Region honors for the Blue Devils since 2013.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.



2018 All-ACC Academic Women’s Cross Country Team

Logan Morris, Clemson, Jr., Industrial Engineering

Michaela Reinhart, Duke, So., Undeclared

Elizabeth Funderburk, Florida State, Fr., Finance

Jodie Judd, Florida State, So., Editing, Writing, Media

Militsa Mircheva, Florida State, Gr., International Affairs

Megan Mooney, Florida State, Jr., Hospitality & Tourism Mgt.

Maudie Skyring, Florida State, So., Exercise Physiology

Hana Herndon, Georgia Tech, So., Civil Engineering

Amy Ruiz, Georgia Tech, Sr., Electrical Engineering

Dorcas Wasike, Louisville, Jr., Nursing *

Enyaeva Michelin, North Carolina, Fr., Undeclared

Dominique Clairmonte, NC State, So, History

Nell Crosby, NC State, Sr., Physiology

Elly Henes, NC State, Jr., Psychology

Heather Holt, NC State, Fr., Undeclared

Nevada Mareno, NC State, Fr., Fashion & Textile Mgt.

Savannah Shaw, NC State, Fr., Business Administration

Isabel Zimmermann, NC State, So., Nutrition Science

Rachel DaDamio, Notre Dame, Sr., Applied & Computational Mathematics

Jacqueline Gaughan, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared

Jessica Harris, Notre Dame, Gr., Master of Science

Anna Rohrer, Notre Dame, Sr., Neuroscience & Biology

Sam Shields, Pitt, Jr., Nursing

Rachel Bonner, Syracuse, Jr., Biology

Madeline Davison, Syracuse, Jr., News & Online Journalism/Sociology

Laura Dickinson, Syracuse, Fr., Sport & Human Dynamics

Mary Malone, Syracuse, Sr., Public Relations

Abbey Green, Virginia, Fr., Undeclared

Sara Freix, Virginia Tech, Jr., Biological Systems Engineering

Kayla Richardson, Virginia Tech, Jr., Computer Science

Sam Halvorsen, Wake Forest, Jr., English

Mimi Smith, Wake Forest, Sr., Health & Exercise Science

* ACC Women’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year


2018 All-ACC Academic Men’s Cross Country Team

Sean Burke, Boston College, Sr., Biochemistry

Nikhil Pulimood, Duke, Sr., Computer Science

Josh Romine, Duke, So., Undeclared

Steven Cross, Florida State, Jr., Finance

Caleb Pottorff, Florida State, Fr., Exercise Physiology

Istvan Szogi, Florida State, Sr., International Affairs

James Cragin, Georgia Tech, Fr., Business Administration

Andrew Kent, Georgia Tech, Jr., Mechanical Engineering

Chandler Austin, Louisville, Sr., Business Administration

Alex Milligan, North Carolina, Jr., Business Administration

Gavin Gaynor, NC State, So., Chemical Engineering

Eli Moskowitz, NC State, Sr., Biological Science

Andrew Alexander, Notre Dame, So., Neuroscience & Behavior

Daniel Kilrea, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared

Yared Nuguse, Notre Dame, So., Biochemistry

Kevin Salvano, Notre Dame, Jr., Accountancy

Bradley Wattleworth, Notre Dame, Gr., Science in Mgt.

Anthony Williams, Notre Dame, Sr., Biological Sciences *

Nick Wolk, Pitt, Jr., Econ/Political Science

Noah Affolder, Syracuse, So., Health & Exercise Science

Illiass Aouani, Syracuse, Sr., Civil Engineering

Dominic Hockenbury, Syracuse, Jr., Biology

Stephen Schultz, Syracuse, So., Graphic Design

Simon Smith, Syracuse, Sr., Biology

Aidan Tooker, Syracuse, Jr., Communication/Rhetorical Studies

Brent Demarest, Virginia, Sr., Educational Psychology

AJ Ernst, Virginia, Jr., History

Jack Joyce, Virginia Tech, Sr., Economics

Bashir Mosavel-Lo, Virginia Tech, Fr., Industrial Systems Engineering

Peter Seufer, Virginia Tech, Sr., Finance

Mitchell Day, Wake Forest, So., Undeclared

Zach Facioni, Wake Forest, Fr., Undeclared

* ACC Men’s Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year