Boothby Claims FCS ADA Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Monday 03/21/2012

CLEVELAND - Ben Boothby, a defensive tackle from the University of Northern Iowa, and Mitch Allen, a quarterback from Wofford College, have been chosen as the recipients of the 11th Annual Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Each will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. The duo was selected from a group of 12 finalists. They will receive their awards during the Association's annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, June 25-28.

Boothby (Clinton, Iowa/Clinton HS) was also selected as a first team Capital One Academic All-American and a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell trophy - the academic Heisman - during the 2011 season. He was named a first-team All-American by four different organizations and received six All-America honors in total.

"Each year, the FCS ADA is proud to honor its deserving student-athletes with the Academic All-Star team in early January. The selection of the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients marks the culmination of our annual process and we want to congratulate both Mitch and Ben on receiving this year's Scholarships," said FCS ADA President Marilyn McNeil, chair of the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and vice-president/director of athletics at Monmouth University. "Each year, the committee is tasked with selecting two individuals from a plethora of deserving scholar-athletes, which is a reflection of the importance of academic success within Division I FCS institutions."

Boothby, who plans on attending medical school, received his undergraduate degree in kinesiology in May 2011. On the field, Boothby started all 13 games and led UNI with 7.5 sacks and 18.5 tackles for loss. Overall, he had 86 tackles, recovered a fumble and helped UNI's defense hold opponents to just 16.6 points per game, which ranked fourth overall in the FCS. His 18.5 tackles for loss led the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC). Boothby is a two-time first-team All-MVFC recipient and two-time first-team MVFC All-Academic selection. He was a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell trophy, a finalist for the ARA Sportsmanship Award, and finished ninth in the balloting for the Buck Buchanan Award as the nation's top defensive player.

Allen, a math and computer science major, who owns a 3.96 GPA, started all 11 games at quarterback and led the Terriers to their second straight FCS playoff appearance. In addition to his 700+ yards passing and four touchdowns, Allen tallied 700 rushing yards and 10 touchdowns. He is 10th all-time in career rushing and touchdowns at Wofford with 2,418 yards and 23 touchdowns, respectively. He was named to the FCS ADA All-Star team and the Southern Conference (SoCon) Fall All-Academic Team three straight years, earned the team's award for highest GPA twice and was on the SoCon Academic Honor Roll each year, along with Wofford's Dean's List.

There were a total of 58 FCS players selected to the Academic All-Star Team in January.  Nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth (chair); Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters