Article Image
Sophomore Jennie Hartjes earned a spot on the 2013 MVC All-Select Team.
Courtesy: None

Hartjes Earns Spot on MVC All-Select Team

ST. LOUIS, Mo. -- Creighton women’s tennis sophomore Jennie Hartjes earned a spot on the 2013 Missouri Valley Conference All-Select Team the conference announced late Thursday night at the Valley tennis awards banquet held at Wichita State.

Hartjes is the first women’s singles player to earn an All-Select Team honor from the MVC since Tess Reddin earned recognition in 2010. Last season former Bluejays Kelsey Schmidt and Mary McMullan became the first women's tennis duo in Creighton history to pick up All-Conference honors.

Last fall Hartjes finished first in the top singles and doubles flights of the Omaha Collegiate Invitational with perfect 3-0 records. With doubles partner Anna Kirshenbaum, the duo also placed third in doubles flight one at the MVC Individual Championships.

Hartjes played in all 18 dual matches at No. 1 singles for the Jays with a 10-8 record in the spring going 3-4 in the MVC as part of a 17-11 overall singles mark. She won four straight singles matches from March 12-28.

She also posted a 14-13 overall doubles record including an 8-10 mark in the spring with four different partners, playing primarily at the No. 2 doubles slot.

The Woodbury, Minn., native’s last win at No. 1 singles marked her 17th this year. As a result, she is tied at No. 4 in program history for victories at the No. 1 position in a season with former Bluejay Debbie Johnson from the 1992-93 season.

Hartjes leads the team into play this weekend at the MVC Tournament.  The Bluejays earned the No. 7 seed, finishing with an 8-11 overall record and 1-6 in the Valley.  They will take on No. 2 Southern Illinois (17-4, 6-1) at 12:30 p.m. CT.

All-Conference team awards are comprised of one individual from each of the six singles flight classes, as well as three doubles teams from each of the doubles flight classes. In addition, six other individuals are chosen regardless of flight distinction and are named to an "All-Select" Team. Individuals earning selection to the All-Conference team via the flight-selection process are not eligible for the at-large select team. The All-Conference team is chosen by a vote of league coaches.

2013 MVC Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams


No. 1 – Phoebe Walker, Northern Iowa

No. 2 – Julia Schiller, Wichita State

No. 3 – Lucia Kovalova, Wichita State

No. 4 – Maddie Johnson, Drake

No. 5 – Nell Boyd, Drake

No. 6 – Carla Venticinque, Wichita State


Jennie Hartjes, Creighton

Evy Van Genechten, Drake

Carolina Abello, Illinois State

Emmie Marx, Illinois State

Melanie Delsart, Southern Illinois

Natasha Tomishima, Southern Illinois


No. 1 – Natasha James/Marketa Trousilova, Evansville

No. 2 – Rebecca Pedrazzi/Carla Venticinque, Wichita State

No. 3 – Montse Blasco Fernandez/Satjaporn Mahajaroenkul, Wichita State

Player of the Year:

Phoebe Walker, Northern Iowa

Freshman of the Year:

Rebecca Pedrazzi, Wichita State

Coach of the Year:

Audra Nothwehr, Southern Illinois

First National Bank
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets