Article Image
Play Video
NDSU's Rachel Roller shot a 70 Tuesday and tied for eighth overall.
View larger
Courtesy: Dennis Hubbard
Files available
Send this article to a friend

Anderson Repeats as Summit Champion, Bison Women Second By Four Shots

Courtesy: NDSU Athletic Media Relations
Release: April 24, 2012

PRIMM, Nev. - Amy Anderson won her second straight Summit League women's golf championship and North Dakota State finished second Tuesday, April 24, at the Primm Valley Lakes Course.

Anderson shot a 4-over-par 76 in the final round but finished with a 2-over 218 to beat Southern Utah's Monica Jung by three shots.  Three players tied for third place five shots back.

North Dakota State broke its school 18-hole school record by eight shots with a 294 in the final round and snapped its 54-hole tournament record by 14 shots with a 913.

NDSU made it the most closely contested women's golf championship in Summit League history, falling just four shots behind Oral Roberts, which won its 15th title in 15 years of the event.  ORU won by six shots in 1999 and by 27 or more every other year.

Bison senior Rachel Roller went out in style, shooting a career-low 70 in the final round and finishing with a career-best 227 to crack the league's top 20 for the first time in a tie for eighth place.

Abby Knutson also turned in a pair of NDSU career bests with a 73 in the final round and a tournament score of 234.  She tied for 22nd place with teammate Sarah Storandt, who fired a 75 in the final round.

NDSU's Megan Swan shot an 88 in the final round and finished 48th with a 256.

The second-place finish was NDSU's highest in the history of the women's golf program.  The Bison placed fourth in the North Central Conference in 2000-01 and in The Summit League in 2007-08 and 2010-11.

North Dakota State is scheduled to play South Dakota and South Dakota State in the annual Dakota Cup on Saturday, April 28, and Sunday, April 29, at the Dacotah Ridge Golf Club in Morton, Minn.

Summit League All-Tournament Team
Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
Monica Jung, Southern Utah
Alheli Moreno, Oral Roberts
Tiffany Robbins, Oral Roberts
Kristi Tschudin, Western Illinois

Championship MVP: Amy Anderson, North Dakota State

Newcomer of the Championship: Monica Jung, Southern Utah

Coach of the Year: Lance Watson, Oral Roberts

Stay Connected EmailRSSTwitterFacebookYouTube
NDSU Bookstore
Building The Competitive Edge
©2017 - North Dakota State University.    All rights reserved.