College of Charleston Menís Swimming & Diving Captures CCSA Championship

          Release: 02/18/2012
Print RSS
Share |
Article Image
Related Links
ATHENS, Ga. - The College of Charleston men's swimming & diving squad won the 2012 CCSA Championship, the school's third conference title since the beginning of the conference in 2007-08. The Cougars scored 890.50 points to beat out rival Davidson. The women's squad scored a program-best 267 points as they took seventh place overall.

Junior diver Peter Gibbons was named the CCSA Male Diver of the Year and Most Outstanding Diver of the Meet after he won both the one-meter and three-meter dives and set two new school records.

College of Charleston head coach Bruce Zimmerman was named the Men's CCSA Head Coach of the Year, his third career honor in the conference and fifth overall. Zimmerman won men's and women's Coach of the Year honors in the Southern States Conference. The Cougars' diving coach, Brittany Collins was named the Men's Diving Coach of the Year.

For the weekend, the Cougars' men's and women's squads combined for 12 new school records, 23 top-three finishes and six gold medals.

On the final day of competition, freshman Pablo Ortiz set a new school record by winning the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 1:50.80.

The Cougars took second and third place in the 100 freestyle as Greg Karel took second in a time of 45.85 and David Sherrier finished third in 46.28.

In the 200 backstroke, Zack Lambert took third place overall with a time of 1:50.64 while teammate Jackson Marine was just behind him with a time of 1:51.76. In the 200 breast, senior Brantley Reynolds finished fourth with a time of 2:06.35.

In the 1650 free, senior Matthew Sherrier finished in second place with a time of 15:59.15. Chris Verboncoeur came in fourth place with a time of 16:12.62.

On the women's side, Sarah Boyle broke yet another of her own school records by winning the 200 backstroke with a time of 2:00.00.

Freshman Sarah Graif bested her own school record in the 100 free as she took sixth place with a time of 51.38. Teammate Jayme Groth was right behind her for a seventh-place time of 51.47.

Despite placing seventh, the women's squad eclipsed 250 points for the CCSA meet for the first time in program history. In winning their third championship, the men's squad have won more CCSA titles than any other program.