Article Image
Play Video
Weston Leutz won the decathlon title Friday at the Summit League Championships.
View larger
Courtesy: Richard Svaleson
Files available
Send this article to a friend

Leutz Wins Decathlon as NDSU Men Lead After Two Days at Summit League Championships

Courtesy: NDSU Athletic Media Relations
Release: May 11, 2012
FARGO, N.D. - Weston Leutz claimed the decathlon title at The Summit League Outdoor Track and Field Championships as the North Dakota State men continued to lead after two days of competition. The Bison have 85 points, while second place Southern Utah has 53. Western Illinois sits third with 48.

Leutz won his second Summit League decathlon title after also earning the crown in 2010. He finished with 7,212 points, winning the 110 meter hurdles and discus on the final day of competition. Brock Larson took third with 6,144 points, while Beau Gagnon was fourth with 5,564 points and Dan Gorghuber was seventh with 5,373 points. The Bison claimed 22 team points in the decathlon.

In the steeplechase, Brett Kelly finished third in a personal best time of 9 minutes 16.11 seconds. His time is ranked seventh all-time at NDSU. Andrew Fillmore also earned points with a fourth place finish in a personal best time of 9:19.23, ranking 10th in school history.

Jeramy Geditz tied his personal record in the high jump after clearing 6 feet 11 inches, which was good for second place. He is tied for fifth all-time at NDSU in the event. He cleared the bar at both 6-9 and 6-11 on his first attempts.

Lee Dhein took sixth in the long jump with a mark of 23 feet 2 ¾ inches to earn three team points. Casey Orgon posted a sixth place finish in the shot put with a toss of 52-9 ¼. His personal best mark ranks seventh in school history.

The Bison also qualified several athletes for Saturday's running finals. Matt Tetzlaff led a 1-2-3-4 Bison sweep in the 110 meter hurdles and clocked in with the day's fastest qualifying time of 14.43 seconds.  Leutz ran a time of 14.65 seconds, while Parker McKittrick ran 14.86. Jerome Begin finished in 15.05 seconds.

Tetzlaff and Begin also qualified for the 400 meter hurdle final. Begin clocked in at 53.90 seconds and Tetzlaff ran a time of 54.80 seconds.

In the 100 meters, Donté Smart ran the third fastest preliminary time of 10.80 seconds. He will be joined in the final by teammate Nate Mattson, who ran a time of 10.94 seconds.

Smart and Mattson also qualified for the 200 meter final. Mattson posted a time of 21.91 seconds, while Smart was just behind him in 21.94 seconds. Dhein also qualified with a time of 22.41 seconds.

Jason Duchscherer ran the second fastest qualifying time in the 400 meters, finishing in 48.17 seconds.

In the 800 meters, Moses Heppner led three Bison into tomorrow's final. Heppner clocked in at 1:53.57, while Alec Espeland finished in 1:54.26. Travis Fitzke also qualified in 1:54.28.

The Summit League Championships will conclude Saturday, May 12 at the Ellig Sports Complex. Men's field events begin at 10:30 a.m. with the pole vault. Running events start at 12:20 p.m.

Team Scores
1. North Dakota State, 85
2. Southern Utah, 53
3. Western Illinois, 48
4. South Dakota State, 44.5
5. South Dakota, 41.5
6. UMKC, 20
7. Oral Roberts, 12
8. Oakland, 8

Stay Connected EmailRSSTwitterFacebookYouTube
NDSU Bookstore
Building The Competitive Edge
©2017 - North Dakota State University.    All rights reserved.