FARGO, N.D.--Perfection is what the 1995 North Dakota State University women's basketball team will be remembered for after winning its third straight NCAA Division II championship on March 25, 1995.

With a 98-85 win over Portland State, played at the Bison Sports Arena before a title-game record 7,138 fans, NDSU became the first Division II women's champion to finish the season unbeaten. NDSU finished 32-0 and extended its winning streak to 41 games.

The Bison, ranked No. 1 the entire season, also became the first women's team to win four Division II national titles.

“That's a dream,” said Lynette Mund, one of only two seniors on the 1995 team. “Hardly anyone does that.”

Hardly any team shoots 63 percent from the field, scores 85 points and loses. But that's what happened to Greg Bruce's Portland State squad, making its first championship game appearance.

The Bison, normally 44 percent shooters, countered Portland State's hot hand with 52 percent shooting and their fourth highest-scoring game of the season.

Thanks to their aggressive approach, six Bison players scored in double figures.

Portland State cut the Bison lead to three points in the first half and five points early in the second half. But the Vikings could get no closer.

“I always felt like we were playing well and never got out of our game plan,” said NDSU head coach Amy Ruley, who directed the Bison to their fourth NCAA title in five years. “It was a fun one to coach.”

It was also a fun game to play in. Lori Roufs led the Bison with 23 points and 5 rebounds, while Jenni Rademacher followed with 17. Kasey Morlock and Lynette Mund each had 15 points, while Rhonda Birch and Linda Davis each finished with 11.

Morlock was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Elite Eight, while Roufs was selected to the all-tourney team.