Article Image
Play Video
Heidi Peterson and Maddie McClellan will lead the Bison at the league championships.
View larger
Courtesy: Richard Svaleson
Send this article to a friend

NDSU Women Head to Tulsa for Summit League Championships

Courtesy: NDSU Athletic Media Relations
Release: October 27, 2011

FARGO, N.D. - The North Dakota State women's cross country team will compete in The Summit League Championships Saturday, Oct. 29 in Tulsa, Okla.  The six-kilometer race is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. on the campus of Oral Roberts.

Sophomore Heidi Peterson has been NDSU's top finisher in all four races this fall, including first place finishes at the Bison Open and Tim Young Invitational.  Peterson has the second-fastest 6k time in the league at 20:50.50.  Fellow sophomore Maddie McClellan has the fifth-fastest time in the league at 21:26.37.

The Bison are currently ranked No. 14 in the Midwest Region by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.  Southern Utah is also ranked 10th in the Mountain region.

Last year, the Bison finished third at the league championships with 80 points.  Oakland won the title with 45 points.  Peterson was the team's top finisher, placing ninth and earning Newcomer of the Championships as well as second team all-league honors.  Faith Kruchowski and McClellan also finished in the top 20, taking 17th and 19th, respectively. NDSU finished second at the 2009 league championships, the team's best-ever finish.

Summit League 6k Top Times

  Name School Time
1. Diana Medina-Mitchell    Southern Utah 20:20.2
2. Heidi Peterson North Dakota State     20:50.50
3. Jamie Smith Southern Utah 20:58.0
4. Kristen Radcliffe Oral Roberts 21:02.8
5. Maddie McClellan North Dakota State 21:26.37
6. Madalyn Jones Southern Utah 21:28.5
7. Jordan Krahn North Dakota State 21:28.71
8. Sheilah Ndasym Oral Roberts 21:28.9
9. Armarose Bailey Southern Utah 21:29.2
10. Ashley Gray Southern Utah 21:29.5
11. Steffi Minson Southern Utah 21:45.5
12. Megan Hilson South Dakota 21:45.79
13. Kelly Pechous North Dakota State 21:49.63
14. Dayna VanArsdol Southern Utah 21:51.0
15. Ashleigh Giese South Dakota 21:59.25

Stay Connected EmailRSSTwitterFacebookYouTube
NDSU Bookstore
Building The Competitive Edge
©2017 - North Dakota State University.    All rights reserved.