Article Image
Doug McDermott
Courtesy: None

Doug McDermott Repeats as USBWA First Team All-American

OMAHA, Neb. -- For the second consecutive season, Creighton forward Doug McDermott has been named a First Team All-American by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

McDermott is the 75th man to earn multiple First Team accolades in the USBWA's history, and first since Ohio State's Jared Sullinger in 2011 and 2012. McDermott is the first player from a "non-BCS" league to earn repeat First Team honors since UNLV star Larry Johnson in 1990 & 1991.

A junior from Ames, Iowa, McDermott is believed to be the first player in Creighton basketball history to earn First Team All-America honors twice from the same organization, and first in program history player to earn multiple First Team accolades since Paul Silas from 1961-64.

McDermott's enjoyed a standout year thus far that has him live up to preseason hype projecting him as a top candidate for National Player of the Year. He's averaging 23.1 points and 7.5 rebounds per game and shooting 56.1 percent from the field, 49.7 percent from three-point range and 86.0 percent at the line.

McDermott is joined on the USBWA First Team by Michigan's Trey Burke, Indiana's Victor Oladipo, Gonzaga's Kelly Olynyk and Georgetown's Otto Porter.

Each of the 10 All-American selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced on Friday, April 5, in Atlanta in conjunction with the Final Four. The Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac will be formally presented on Monday, April 15, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards Gala in Oklahoma City.

In other news on Monday, Creighton men's basketball moved up one spot to 22nd in the Associated Press poll, and up three spots in the USA Today coaches poll to 21st. Both figures are CU's highest ranking since Feb. 4th.

Creighton returns to the postseason for a 16th straight season when it plays Cincinnati on Friday at 1:45 pm Central in Philadelphia in a second-round NCAA Tournament contest.

Lew Alcindor, UCLA (1967-69)
Terry Dischinger, Purdue (1960-62)
Patrick Ewing, Georgetown (1983-85)
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina (2007-09)
Keith Lee, Memphis State (1983-85)
Jerry Lucas, Ohio State (1960-62)
Pete Maravich, LSU (1968-70)
Calvin Murphy, Niagara (1968-70)
Cotton Nash, Kentucky (1962-64)
Sam Perkins, North Carolina (1982-84)
Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati (1958-60)
Cazzie Russell, Michigan (1964-66)
Ralph Sampson, Virginia (1981-83)
David Thompson, N.C. State (1973-75)
Wayman Tisdale, Oklahoma (1983-85)
Bill Walton, UCLA (1972-74)
Sidney Wicks, UCLA (1969-71)

Mark Aguirre, DePaul (1980-81)
Elgin Baylor, Seattle (1957-58)
Larry Bird, Indiana State (1978-79)
Bob Boozer, Kansas State (1958-59)
Bill Bradley, Princeton (1964-65)
Austin Carr, Notre Dame (1970-71)
Wilt Chamberlain, Kansas (1957-58)
Mateen Cleaves, Michigan State (1998-99)
Adrian Dantley, Notre Dame (1975-76)
Tim Duncan, Wake Forest (1996-97)
Sean Elliott, Arizona (1988-89)
Dale Ellis, Tennessee (1982-83)
Phil Ford, North Carolina (1977-78)
Rod Griffin, Wake Forest (1977-78)
Elvin Hayes, Houston (1967-68)
Walt Hazzard, UCLA (1963-64)
Art Heyman, Duke (1962-63)
Bailey Howell, Mississippi State (1958-59)
Dan Issel, Kentucky (1969-70)
Chris Jackson, LSU (1989-90)
Jimmy Jackson, Ohio State (1991-92)
Larry Johnson, UNLV (1990-91)
Michael Jordan, North Carolina (1983-84)
Roger Kaiser, Georgia Tech (1960-61)
Bernard King, Tennessee (1976-77)
Raef LaFrentz, Kansas (1997-98)
Dwight Lamar, Southwestern Louisiana (1972-73)
Bob Lanier, St. Bonaventure (1968, '70)
Clyde Lee, Vanderbilt (1965-66)
John Lucas, Maryland (1975-76)
Danny Manning, Kansas (1987-88)
Scott May, Indiana (1975-76)
Doug McDermott, Creighton (2012-13)
Bill McGill, Utah (1961-62)
Larry Miller, North Carolina (1967-68)
Rick Mount, Purdue (1969-70)
Chris Mullin, St. John’s (1984-85)
Troy Murphy, Notre Dame (2000-01)
Mike O’Koren, North Carolina (1979-80)
Shaquille O’Neal, LSU (1991-92)
Ed Ratleff, Long Beach State (1972-73)
John Roche, South Carolina (1970-71)
Guy Rodgers, Temple (1957-58)
Charlie Scott, North Carolina (1969-70)
Dave Stallworth, Wichita State (1964-65)
Tom Stith, St. Bonaventure (1960-61)
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State (2011-12)
Mychal Thompson, Minnesota (1977-78)
Wes Unseld, Louisville (1967-68)
Chet Walker, Bradley (1961-62)
Jim Walker, Providence (1966-67)
Jerry West, West Virginia (1959-60)
Keith Wilkes, UCLA (1973-74)
Jason Williams, Duke (2001-02)

Jays Video
(M) Basketball
Creighton Postgame Interviews - All Star Rome -8-11-15
(M) Basketball
Interviews from Ollegio, Italy.
(M) Basketball
Highlights from Creighton Men's Basketball first game in Italy against Ollegio...
Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Season Tickets