Goss and Marshall Earn Summit League First Team Honors
Courtesy: Western Illinois Athletics  
Release: Saturday 05/10/2012
Share |
MACOMB, Ill. - The Summit League announced its 2012 Summit League All-League teams Wednesday (May 9), and two Leathernecks were recognized. Both senior Jamie Goss and freshman Sammy Marshall were named to the All-League First Team.

The duo were also tabbed Summit League All-Conference First Team by College Sports Madness. The complete release can be found HERE.

Goss, who earned All-League First Team honors last season and second team in 2009, finished the 2012 season with team-bests in five offensive categories, with 58 hits, three triples, six home runs, 40 RBI, and 90 total bases. She also finished second on the team in batting average (.358), doubles (8), and third on the team in walks with 19.

The senior captain, who set the program's single-season RBI record of 47 last season, finished her career with 153 runs batted in which is tied for first all-time. She also ranks third all-time in Western Illinois program history with 20.

Marshall finished her freshman campaign with team-bests in batting average (.420), runs (38), and stolen bases (45-45). She also finished the year second on the team in hits with 55. Her 45 stolen bases, 1.18 per game, rank first in the nation.

To view The Summit League's complete release, click HERE.

2012 All-Summit League Awards

First Team
C - Amanda Grable, NDSU, Fr.
1B - Jamie Goss, WIU, Sr.
2B - Kassie Loe, USD, Jr.
3B - Ashleigh Bousquet, IPFW, So.
SS - Sammy Marshall, WIU, Fr.
OF - Larissa Franklin, IPFW, Fr.
OF - Mikkel Griffin, SUU, Jr.
OF - Ericka Polidori, OU, So.
DP - Cristina Borek, NDSU, Sr.
UTL - Jamie Gay, NDSU, Sr.
P - Miranda Kramer, IPFW, Fr.
P - Krista Menke, NDSU, Fr.

Second Team
C - Caitlin Christopher, UMKC, Fr.
1B - Madison Resley, SUU, So.
2B - Erin Galloway, OU, Jr.
3B - Kadi Henderson, SUU, So.
SS - Alex Bousquet, IPFW, So.
OF - Terysa Dyer, SUU, So.
OF - Brittany Kachur, IPFW, So.
OF - Tessa Loewen, SUU, Fr.
DP - Haylee Hoch, SUU, Sr.
UTL - Nicole Checkie, IUPUI, Fr.
P - Courtney Cronin, IPFW, Sr.
P - Whitney Johnson, NDSU, Jr.

Player of the Year: Mikkel Griffin, SUU

Pitcher of the Year: Krista Menke, NDSU

Freshman of the Year: Krista Menke, NDSU

Coach of the Year: Darren Mueller, NDSU

WIU Softball


Rocky Vision

BullDog Image