NEW YORK-Eight Columbia men's swimmers were honored this week as Mid-Major All-Americans. First-years Omar Arafa, Jeremie DeZwirek, Daniel Gosek, David Jakl, and Dominik Koll, along with senior Robert Eyckmans, junior John Wright and sophomore Eric Traub all earned honorable mention nods.

Honorable mention selections are swimmers who were entered with NCAA 'B' standards, but not selected for the 2011 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships.

The following conferences have been designated as Mid-Majors: America East, Atlantic 10, Colonial Athletic Association, Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association, Horizon, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mountain Pacific, Missouri Valley, Patriot, Sun Belt, Summit, and Western Athletic.  Institutions are also eligible by awarding fewer than half of the maximum-allowable scholarships (seven for women, five for men).

A complete list of honorees is available here, while the complete release is available here.