Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Jeffrey A. Camarati
Duke Places Seven on All-ACC Academic Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/21/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Senior forward Emmie Le Marchand garnered the fourth All-ACC Academic Field Hockey team honor of her career to headline Duke’s seven selections to the squad, as announced by Commissioner John Swofford Friday, Feb. 21.

The Blue Devils have placed 52 student-athletes on the All-ACC Academic team since the award’s inception in 2007, with at least six Duke field hockey student-athletes making the squad in each of the previous six seasons.

Le Marchand, redshirt sophomore goalkeeper Lauren Blazing, senior defender Paula Heimbach and sophomore midfielder Aileen Johnson were among the ACC players to receive both all-conference and all-academic team recognition in 2013.

A Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-American for the second time in her career during the fall, Le Marchand earned her fourth career nod on the all-academic squad. Heimbach and graduate student Devon Gagliardi received their third all-academic selections while Blazing garnered the second of her career. Junior midfielder Abby Beltrani, Johnson and sophomore defender Amanda Kim rounded out the Duke contingent with the first all-academic team recognition of their careers.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2013 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team - Duke Selections

Name Year Major
Abby Beltrani Jr Cultural Anthropology
Lauren Blazing @ R-So Cultural Anthropology & Political Science
Devon Gagliardi # GS Master of Management Studies
Paula Heimbach # Sr Evolutionary Anthropology
 Aileen Johnson So  Undeclared 
 Amanda Kim So  Undeclared 
 Emmie Le Marchand % Sr  English 

@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree