Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: John Strohsacker/US Lacrosse
Crotty, Lawson Named to Team USA Roster
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/30/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—Former Duke University men’s lacrosse players Ned Crotty and David Lawson recently were selected to the U.S. Men’s National Team final 23-man roster for the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Championship, presented by Trusted Choice.

The duo will help the United States capture a second consecutive title in the tournament that runs from July 10-19 in Commerce City, Colo. Duke is one of four programs to have multiple players selected, while Crotty is one of four players returning from the 2010 gold-medal winning squad.

The team was selected from a 31-player roster that attended training camp last week in Connecticut and Massachusetts, and competed in Thursday’s MLL All-Star Game at Harvard Stadium in Cambridge, Mass.

Crotty has been a mainstay with Team USA over the past five years and currently plays with the New York Lizards in Major League Lacrosse. He is fourth on the team in scoring with 10 goals and five assists for 15 points. In his five seasons in the league the 2010 Tewaaraton Award winner has 156 points from 80 goals and 75 assists. At Duke, Crotty led Duke to its first NCAA title in 2010 and currently ranks fifth in career points (239) and second in career assists (147).

A 2013 USILA first team All-American, Lawson will don the US jersey for the first time in international competition. He currently plays for the Rochester Rattlers and has 14 goals and four assists through eight games this season. In his two seasons in the MLL, the 2013 NCAA Champion has 32 goals and nine assists for 41 points. Lawson finished his collegiate career with 105 points (73g, 32a), including an impressive 53 en route to leading Duke to the NCAA crown in 2013.  

Team USA will next head to the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo., for a final training camp July 6-9 before beginning its world title defense in Denver on July 10.

“These men were selected from a group of 52 that participated in Orlando and 31 that participated this past week, so we feel this is a very solid team that will represent our country well in Denver,” said Team USA head coach Richie Meade. “Several of the men who have been part of this process distinguished themselves, but weren’t chosen for this team. We’re very humbled to represent our country and endeavor to do so to the best of our collective ability.”

The 23-man roster by position with professional teams, collegiate alma maters, and previous U.S. team experience noted:

Ned Crotty, New York Lizards, Duke*
Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina 
Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts 
Brendan Mundorf, Chesapeake Bayhawks, UMBC* 
Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell 
Garrett Thul, Florida Launch/Philadelphia Wings, Army

Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse
Kevin Buchanan, Boston Cannons, Ohio State 
Dan Burns, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland
Kyle Harrison, Ohio Machine, Johns Hopkins^
David Lawson, Rochester Rattlers, Duke 
Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins* 
Max Seibald, New York Lizards/Philadelphia Wings, Cornell*

Mitch Belisle, Boston Cannons, Cornell 
Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland 
Tucker Durkin, Florida Launch, Johns Hopkins 
Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins 
Kyle Hartzell, New York Lizards, Salisbury 
Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland

Drew Adams, New York Lizards, Penn State 
Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws, Johns Hopkins

Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate
Greg Gurenlian, New York Lizards, Penn State