Article Image
Courtesy: WMU

WMU Football Picked Third in MAC Preseason Poll

Courtesy: Mat Kanan, director of athletic media relations
Release: 07/24/2012
Print RSS

DETROIT - The 2012 football season unofficially began at the Mid-American Conference Media Day.  The MAC Preseason Poll shows the Broncos predicted to finish third in the West Division, receiving four first place votes.

It is the third straight season Western Michigan was predicted to finish third in its division and fifth time during the Bill Cubit era.  WMU was predicted to finish second in 2009 and first in 2007.

The Broncos, receiving 79 total points and four first place votes, were picked to finish behind Toledo (87) with seven first place votes and Northern Illinois (83) with five first place votes.  Ball State (42), Eastern Michigan (34) and Central Michigan (32) round out the West Division.  The Chippewas also received one first place vote.

Ohio led all teams with 119 points and 17 first place votes.  Bowling Green was picked second in the East Division (91), receiving the second most points in the poll.  Miami followed in third with 84 points with Kent State (76), Buffalo (52), Akon (31) and conference newcomer UMass (23) rounding out the division.  The Minutemen are not eligible for the Marathon MAC Championship Game on November 30, 2012 (7 p.m.).

Votes were also given to teams who selected media predicted to win the 2012 Marathon MAC Championship Game.  Ohio leads the way with five votes followed by Toledo with three.  NIU, WMU and CMU all received one vote each.

WMU returns four All-MAC selections from 2011, including Davey O'Brien, Walter Camp Player of the Year and Manning Award candidate Alex Carder, Jim Thorpe Award candidate Johnnie Simon, Freddie Bishop and Dann O'Neill.

Stay tuned to all day as we will post video interviews with Coach Cubit, Carder and Bishop with reaction from MAC Media Day, thoughts on the 2012 season and how summer preparation has gone.

Team (First Place Votes)        Points
MAC East Division                
1.      Ohio (17)                   119
2.      Bowling Green             91
3.      Miami                        84
4.      Kent State                  76
5.      Buffalo                       52
6.      Akron                         31
7.      UMass                        23
MAC West Division
1.      Toledo (7)                  87
2.      Northern Illinois (5)     83
3.      Western Michigan (4)   79
4.      Ball State                   42
5.      Eastern Michigan         34
6.      Central Michigan (1)    32

2012 Marathon MAC Championship Game Winner:  Ohio 5; Toledo 3; Northern Illinois 1;

Western Michigan 1 and Central Michigan 1. 

Note:  Several voters did not select a winner for the MAC Championship.