Article Image
Courtesy: Kevin Shrock, WMU Athletics

Broncos Give Out 2012 Team Awards

Courtesy: Sean Fagan, Assistant Director of Media Relations
Release: 05/04/2012
Print RSS
KALAMAZOO, Mich. - The Western Michigan men's tennis team has selected the recipients of its team awards today, reaffirming the fact that every member of the line-up played a key role in the Broncos' Mid-American Conference Tournament championship. All awards were voted on by members of the team, with the exception of the Hap Sorensen Coaches' Award.

The reigning MAC Player of the Year Nadin Indre won a pair of team awards, as his teammates voted him both the Broncos' Rookie of the Year and the Team's Most Valuable Player. Indre led the team with a 30-11 singles record and an overall record of 56-28. He was also named the MAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player, going 5-0 over the course of the weekend.

Indre was joined on the MAC All-Tournament team by senior Zeyad Montasser, who was named the team's Most Improved Player. Montasser went 23-18 in singles play, tying his career-best mark set in his freshman year. Montasser moved up to No. 1 doubles late in the season, teaming with Indre to aid the Broncos in their season-send hot streak. Montasser earned his first career All-MAC honors, being named to the Second Team.

Junior Ross VanderPloeg earned a slew of awards, as he was voted the team's Singles Player of the Year and one half of the Doubles Team of the Year, an award he shared with doubles partner Simon Blomberg. VanderPloeg was also honored with the Hap Sorensen Coaches' Award, which was selected by WMU head coach Dave Morin and assistant coach Bojan Szumanski and is named for former Bronco great Hap Sorensen. VanderPloeg won a team-high 30 matches in doubles play and was named Second-Team All-MAC, while the doubles pairing of VanderPloeg and Blomberg went 6-0 down the stretch.