Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Ryan Deitrich
Ryan Deitrich Senior Profile
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/22/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Named a team captain in his first season with the Blue Devils, graduate student Ryan Deitrich played three seasons at Penn before enrolling in Duke’s Fuqua School of Business. One of three Duke players to bat over .300 in 2014, he led the team in both home runs (9) and slugging percentage (.549). He received his Master of Management Studies degree this spring. caught up with the Collegeville, Pa., native. What are your three favorite things about being a Duke student-athlete?
Deitrich: I’d have to say my teammates. Especially coming in this year being new to the program, how they’ve helped and supported me has been awesome. The atmosphere around Duke athletics itself … coming from a program at Penn it wasn’t necessarily athletics focused. It’s been awesome to see how much people really come out and support Duke athletics. I’d have to say all the free gear you get. What is your favorite on-field memory?
RD: I’d have to go with the walk-off against Carolina. Just coming up at a big spot and helping our team get the sweep against them was awesome. What is your favorite off-field memory?
RD: Just being around the guys on the weekends, especially in the fall we had days off. Just getting to know these guys and having fun. What are three things you would do on an off day?
RD: Obvious answer would be sleep. Always number one. Eating is a big thing, love eating and trying to go to new places and find new food. Third thing is, we have a real nice pool in our apartment complex, probably lay out by the pool. What are your three favorite restaurants in Durham?
RD: I’ve actually tried Wimpy’s. It’s a little burger place in Durham. It’s only open till 2 p.m., so you have to go in pretty early. They have the best burgers I’ve had. Tyler’s downtown, in the Old Tobacco Warehouse is a cool place just get to go shoot pool with the guys and stuff like that. Chipotle is right next to my apartment, so I got to go with that one. What are three things you’d like to do in the next 10 years?
RD: Hopefully be able to sign a pro contract. That would be nice. That’s been my goal all along. Other than that just find a place to settle down and find a job. That’s always important. I’d like to travel. I have family in Greece. I’d like to go visit. That’d be awesome. Name three things you could not live without as a kid.
RD: As a kid I was always outside. I couldn’t live without a basketball. Just shooting hoops in the driveway. I was really big into Pokémon cards as a kid. Unfortunately I lost my Pokémon collection when we moved but I had to have those when I was younger. I guess just little league baseball. I had a chance to play in the regional finals right before the league world series and lost, but that kind of consumed my childhood growing up was little league baseball.