Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: US Presswire
Jabari Parker
Parker Named Finalist for Two USBWA Awards
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/27/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke's Jabari Parker has been selected as a finalist for the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy and the Intergris Wayman Tisdale Award (Freshman of the Year) as announced by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Thursday.

Parker is averaging 18.8 points and an ACC-leading 8.9 rebounds per game for the 23-6 (12-4) Blue Devils. He has set a Duke freshman record with 15 20-point games, while also leading the conference with 12 double-doubles. Parker ranks among the league leaders in scoring, rebounds, field goal percentage, offensive rebounds and defensive rebounds. He has also been named ACC Player of the Week two times, while claiming Rookie of the Week accolades nine times.

The Chicago, Ill., native has scored in double figure 27 times, including each of the past 11 games. Parker opened the season with seven straight 20-point games to become the first freshman to accomplish that feat since Kevin Durant (2006-07).

Members of the association's board of directors chose the finalists and the entire 975-member USBWA will vote on the awards as well as the annual All-America and All-District teams. The ballots will be distributed Sunday evening and USBWA members may still write in candidates for the three individual honors.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy recipient will be announced on Friday, April 4, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, at a press conference in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four. Prior to that, on Mon., March 17, the Integris Wayman Tisdale Award winner will be announced and the following Monday, the winner of the Henry Iba National Coach of the Year Award will be revealed. All three award winners will be formally presented their awards at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on Mon., April 14, at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

Player, School
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Nick Johnson, Arizona
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Jabari Parker, Duke
Casey Prather, Florida
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Russ Smith, Louisville
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Player, School
Joel Embiid, Kansas
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Jabari Parker, Duke
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

The ten coaches placed on the ballot for the Henry Iba Award are: John Beilein, Michigan; Tony Bennett, Virginia; Larry Brown, SMU; Jim Crews, Saint Louis; Mick Cronin, Cincinnati; Billy Donovan, Florida; Steve Fisher, San Diego State; Gregg Marshall, Wichita State; Greg McDermott, Creighton; and Jay Wright, Villanova.

Tickets and sponsorship information for the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards are available at or by contacting Scott Hill (405-749-1515, The April 14 banquet will also honor Kansas coach Bill Self as the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named in honor of a former player. Michigan's Trey Burke won the award a year ago.

The Henry Iba Award is named in honor of the legendary Oklahoma State coach who won 655 games and two national championships in 36 seasons in Stillwater. The USBWA has presented a National Coach of the Year Award each year since the 1958-59 season. Miami's Jim Larrañaga was honored with the award last season.

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU's Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart became the third winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With 975 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.