Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Jabari Parker & Rodney Hood
Hood & Parker Named to Wooden Midseason Top 25
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/22/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke forwards Rodney Hood and Jabari Parker were named to the 2013-14 John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 list, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced Wednesday.

Duke is one of four schools with multiple players on the list, joining Arizona, Michigan State and Syracuse. Parker, who leads Duke in scoring (19.1 points per game) and rebounding (7.3 rebounds per game) is one of only five freshmen on the list.

Hood, a 6-8 redshirt sophomore, ranks fourth in the ACC with 17.9 points per game, leads the league with a .457 (37-of-81) three-point percentage and ranks second with a .517 (107-of-207) field goal percentage and .847 (72-of-85) free throw percentage. He has scored 20 or more points in nine games, including three of Duke’s five ACC games.

Parker, a 6-8 freshman, ranks second in the ACC with 19.1 points per game and has scored 20 or more points 11 times, tied for the most 20-point games by a freshman in Duke history. He also ranks fifth in the ACC with a .486 (123-of-253) field goal percentage and seventh with 7.3 rebounds per game.

Five Duke players have taken home the Wooden Award: Christian Laettner (1992), Elton Brand (1999), Sane Battier (2001), Jason Williams (2002) and J.J. Redick (2006).

The 25 players on the Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 will be highlighted during a 30-minute segment on ESPNU at 6 p.m. this evening. Players on the Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 are strong candidates for the official Wooden Award voting ballot, which will be narrowed down to approximately 20 players later in the season.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08), Kevin Durant (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09 and ‘11). Michigan’s Trey Burke won the 2013 Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the All-American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award’s name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.