Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: David Gonzales
Senior Austin Cody
Duke Set to Play in Irish Creek Collegiate
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/04/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke men’s golf team returns to action April 5-6 at the Irish Creek Collegiate in Kannapolis, N.C. The Blue Devils, led by sixth-year head coach Jamie Green, will tackle The Club at Irish Creek (par 71, 7,099 yards) along with 15 other teams.

Sophomore Motin Yeung continues to anchor the Duke lineup with a 73.4 stroke average. He has registered three top 20 finishes, while posting 11 even-par or better rounds on the season. Yeung has a team-high seven under-par and averages 3.62 sub-par strokes per round.

Freshmen Alexander Matlari, a native of Leimen, Germany, boasts a 74.6 stroke average with eight rounds of even-par or better golf. He is tied for the team lead with 24 rounds played and delivers a team-high 10.75 pars per round.

Turner Southey-Gordon, a junior from Toronto, mans the No. 3 spot in the Blue Devil rotation. He has also played 24 rounds on the year and maintains a 75.6 stroke average. Junior Michael Ricaurte and senior Austin Cody round out the Duke lineup for the Irish Creek Collegiate. They enter the tournament with 77.0 and 78.2 stroke averages, respectively.

Cody has fared well in two previous appearances in the Irish Creek Collegiate placing 12th in 2012 and 15th in 2011. Duke claimed the tournament title at the 2011 Irish Creek Collegiate.

Freshmen Max Greyserman and Andrew Bieber will also compete in the event as individuals. Greyserman has played 24 rounds overall with four under-par rounds and a 75.0 stroke average, while Bieber has a 79.2 stroke average with one even-par effort.

Duke is joined in the field by co-hosts Charlotte and Davidson, along with Akron, Appalachian State, East Carolina, Georgia State, Indiana, Kansas, North Florida, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Richmond, UNC Wilmington and Wake Forest. Saturday’s opening day format will be 36 holes with an 8:30 am shotgun start.