Hagos Leads VMI to Third-Place Finish at BSC Championships
Courtesy: VMIKeydets.com
CONWAY, S.C. – Noah Hagos crossed the 25-minute 8K barrier for the first time, finishing ninth in 24:57 to lead VMI’s men’s cross country team to a third-place finish at the Big South Cross Country Championships, contested Saturday in Conway, S.C.

Hagos’ effort garnered him his first career All-Big South honor, as he led four Keydets in the top-20. Felix Kitur was 12th in 25:12, followed closely by Andrey Dmitriev in 25:14. Ian McGinn clocked in at 25:31 to place 18th, while Dean Gonsalves rounded out the VMI scorers by finishing 32nd in 26:06.

In the team standings, Liberty won its seventh straight conference title with 33 points, trailed closely by High Point’s 40 markers. The Keydets had 83 points, followed by Campbell (120) and Winthrop (139). Radford (168) and Coastal Carolina (197) were sixth and seventh, while UNC Asheville (223), Charleston Southern (236) and Gardner-Webb (263) rounded out the standings.

“Noah Hagos ran a great race today,” said VMI head coach Paul Spangler. “He’s really battled injuries over the last couple of years, and to see him run a PR and earn All-Conference honors is really nice. I’m very proud of him for sticking it out through the injuries. Ian McGinn also ran particularly well for us today.”

Hartnel Paultre (33rd/26:07), Will Thompson (44th/26:38), Jason Thorpe (47th/26:48) and Hayden Hodges (49th/26:52) also finished in the top-50. Rounding out the Keydet competitors was Jacob Lysher (52nd/26:57). In addition, Hodges was named to the Big South All-Academic team following the completion of the race.

A complete agate of awards is below.

VMI cross country will return to action on Saturday, Nov. 12, participating in the NCAA Regional Championships in Louisville, Ky.

2011 Runner of the Year (Men)
Zac Edwards, Liberty

2011 Runner of the Year (Women)
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty

2011 Freshman of the Year (Men)
Reese Ayers, High Point

2011 Freshman of the Year (Women)
Emily Dinning, VMI

2011 Big South All-Conference Team (Men)
Zac Edwards, Liberty
Jacob Smith, High Point
Patrick Crawford, High Point
Neal Darmody, High Point
Adam Freudanthal, Winthrop
David Ricksecker, Liberty
Caleb Edmonds, Liberty
Josh MacDonald, Liberty
Noah Hagos, VMI
Morgan Timiney, Campbell

2011 All–Conference Team (Women)
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop
Kayleigh Perry, High Point
Christian Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Audrey Malloy, High Point
Khristina Kanagy, Liberty
Kelsey Hunt, High Point
Kelsey Paine, High Point
Rachel Deline, Campbell
Kelsey Fraser, High Point

2011 Scholar-Athlete of the Year (Men)
Neal Darmody, High Point

2011 Scholar-Athlete of the Year (Women)
Kelsey Fraser, High Point

2011 Cross Country All-Academic Team (Women)
Kelsey Fraser, High Point
Jenna Moye, VMI
Jennifer Klugh, Liberty
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop
Heidi Dean, Charleston Southern
Ashley Matthews, Campbell
Janel Reeves, Coastal Carolina
Ellie Glunk, Gardner-Webb
Kylie Smith, UNC Asheville
Stephanie Newell, Presbyterian College
Hannah Scheren, Radford

2011 Cross Country All-Academic Team (Men)
Neal Darmody, High Point
Hayden Hodges, VMI
Caleb Edmonds, Liberty
Mick McClay, Gardner-Webb
Matt Smith, Charleston Southern
Chris Schulist, Campbell
Cameron Wells, Coastal Carolina
Brian Trail, Presbyterian College
Adam Freudenthal, Winthrop

Coach of the Year (Men)
Brant Tolsma, Liberty

Coach of the Year (Women)
Mike Esposito, High Point