Men's S&D Finishes Fourth at CCSA Championships
Related Links
ATHENS, Ga. – The VMI men’s swimming and diving team concluded its 2011-12 season Saturday, wrapping up the year with a fourth-place finish at the CCSA Championships, being held on the campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, Ga.

All told, the Keydets finished with 338.5 points, ahead of Howard’s 235. College of Charleston squeaked by Davidson – 890.5 to 884.5 – to win the CCSA title, with Gardner-Webb placing third with 717.5 markers.

One varsity record fell to the Keydets on Saturday, and it came in the 200 fly, where Jake Shafer won the B final with a ninth-place finish and a time of 1:55.40. The record had stood for 15 years. Jack Sullivan also made the finals of the 200 fly, where he finished 13th. Sullivan had scored in the 100-yard version of the discipline earlier in the meet.

In the 100 free, the Keydets had six swimmers advance to the B final. Connor McMahon would pace the group by winning that event and finishing ninth overall, doing so in a VMI freshman record time of 47.34. John Kelly was 10th overall in 47.59, while Thomas Brown’s 13th-place effort came on the strength of a 49.33 second time. Kodiak Bowers and Stephen Lloyd tied for 14th, with a 49.34 clocking, and Chris Dreikorn rounded out the top-16 with a 49.77 time.

The 200 back saw the final individual events for two accomplished Keydet seniors, as Matt Dale and James Goodwillie wrapped up their careers. Goodwillie finished 12th with a 1:57.42 time, while Dale placed 15th in 2:00.35.

In a similar fashion, the 200 breast marked David Hayes’ final individual event as a collegian. Hayes placed 13th in 2:15.49, while freshman Nick Mathis finished 15th, clocking in at 2:21.95.

Finally, in the 1650 free, Jeff Whiteman finished his solid meet with a 13th-place finish (17:38.90), while Benji Howard was 14th (18:01.25) in his final collegiate swim.

The meet wrapped up the VMI swimming and diving careers of an accomplished senior class, including Goodwillie, Dale, Hayes, Howard and Dallas Disbro, among others.