Live Stats
Live Events
Michael Carrig

Canisius Golf Well Represented in Summer Events

Courtesy: Canisius College Athletics
Release: 06/21/2012
Related Links

A total of six Canisius College golfers will be on the course next week taking part in two separate, high-profile amateur events in Western New York. On Monday, June 25, five Golden Griffins will take part in the 54th annual Porter Cup qualifier at Niagara Falls Country Club, and then all four of the program's incoming freshmen will tee it up in the International Junior Masters, held at East Aurora Country Club. That event runs from Tuesday, June 26 through Friday, June 29.

Rising seniors Michael Carrig and Joe Vogl will take part in the Porter Cup qualifier on Monday, where they will be joined by incoming freshmen Brendon Polsin, Anthony Romano and Hunter Sagar. Carrig is scheduled to tee-off at 8:20 a.m., followed by Romano at 8:40 a.m. Sagar will start his efforts to qualify for the Porter Cup at 9:10 a.m., with Polsin going off at 10:20 a.m. and Vogl starting his round at 10:40 a.m. Additionally, Hamburg, N.Y., native Andrew Edbauer, a member of the Canisius men's swimming and diving program, will also take part in this year's Qualifier, and he will go off the first tee at 7:40 a.m. The format of the Porter Cup Qualifier is 18-hole stroke play. The Porter Cup committee offers exemptions into this year's event to the low eight scores. This year's Porter Cup will be held at Niagara Falls Country Club July 18-21. The tournament annually attracts more than 80 top-ranked amateur players from the world. Professional players such as Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Rickie Folwer and 2012 U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson have all taken part in this event.

On Tuesday at East Aurora Country Club, Polsin, Romano, Sagar and Zachary Soccio-Marandola will all take part in the International Junior Masters event. The IJM is the oldest International Junior Golf Invitational in North America, and it features notable past participants such as PGA Tour professionals Tim Clark, Jim Furyk, Trevor Immelman, Rory Sabbatini, Joey Sindelar, Jeff Sluman and Camilo Villegas.

Social Media