Alyssa Click Heading to NCAA Regionals this Weekend
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/04/2012
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - April 4 - Southern Utah University gymnast Alyssa Click will head to the NCAA Regionals this weekend hosted by the University of Utah. Click punched her ticket to the competition as an individual qualifier on the balance beam.

Click will enter the meet averaging a 9.917 on beam over the course of her past three meets. The three-meet stretch included a pair of 9.925's against Boise State and at Brigham Young, marking the third highest scores in school history on balance beam for a Thunderbird gymnast.

The Vancouver, Washington defended her Western Athletic Conference bar title two weeks ago with a school-record 9.925 and led the balance beam with a 9.900 until the final rotation. Click finished in second place at the WAC Championships on beam, earning her second first-team all-WAC citation in the process.

Click is scheduled to rotate with San Jose State on Saturday night and will likely follow the Spartans' top gymnast and reigning WAC Gymnast of the Year, Thomasina Wallace. SJSU will rotate to the balance beam during the fifth rotation. Click can qualify for a spot at the NCAA National Championships by taking the individual title on the balance beam.

In addition to San Jose State, Click will also face gymnasts from Iowa State, Nebraska, Utah, Minnesota, Arizona State, Utah State and Brigham Young. The meet is scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m. (MT) with live stats available online at www.suutbirds.com and a free video feed online at www.utahutes.com.

For more information, click here for the Salt Lake Regional central page.

Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Feb. 14
vs. Denver
(W) 195.550 -195.450
Sat. Feb. 8
@ Denver w/ NC State
() 2nd, 195.700
Fri. Jan. 31
vs. Boise State
(W) 195.450 -195.250
Fri. Jan. 24
@ Boise State
(L) 195.050 -196.025
Fri. Jan. 17
vs. Utah State
(L) 193.975 -194.150
Sat. Jan. 11
@ Utah w/BYU & Boise State
() 4th, 192.025
Mon. Jan. 6
vs. Red/White Preview
() Red, 156.150-153.900
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App