Sam Houston State senior James Glenn has been named the Southland Conference Men's Golf Student-Athlete of the Year, the league office announced Tuesday.

The student-athlete of the year award is presented to the individual who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees must possess a 3.2 GPA or better on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated achievement.

Glenn's award marks the 14th time in the past six years a Bearkat has earned "Student-Athlete of the Year" in his or her sport.

Joining Glenn on the Academic All-Southland squad are Bearkat senior Kort O'Leary, Southeastern Louisiana junior Rhys West, UT Arlington junior Hunter Brown and UTSA junior Taylor Koser.

A native of Tyler, Glenn is the first Bearkat to earn this honor in men's golf. The business major posted the highest grade-point average on the Academic All-Southland Conference team with 3.78.

Glenn ranked 25th in the Southland with a 74.73 stroke average in 11 tournaments played. He won individual medalist honors at the Butler Invitational with a two-round total of 149 (71-69). He finished second at the Sam Houston State Harold Funston Invitational and posted three other top-20 individual finishes on the season.  

O'Leary, a business major with a 3.51 GPA, finished fifth on the Sam Houston golf team with a stroke average of 75.13 in five tournaments. A Waco, Texas, native, O'Leary had two top 20 finishes, including 17th at the UTA Waterchase Open and 18th at the Sam Houston Harold Funston Invitational.

Glenn joins a select group of Sam Houston student-athletes. Other Bearkats to earn Southland "Student-Athlete of the Year" honors include Lata Assudani (women's tennis 2007), Ryan Bright (men's basketball 2007, 2008), Brittany Brooks (women's basketball 2010), Chris Cralle (men's indoor track 2011 and outdoor track 2011), Morgan Davis (women's indoor track 2012), Barkley Falkner (men's basketball 2009), Jennifer Heinz (women's golf 2008), Luke Prihoda (baseball 2007), Jennie Sewell (2007), Irina Sotnikova (2009) and Travis Watson (football 2011).

The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 12 member schools, voted for the student-athlete of the year.

The Academic All-Southland team is voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic advisors from each Southland Conference university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.

2012 Southland Conference Men's Golf All-Academic Team






James Glenn

Sam Houston State




Rhys West

Southeastern Louisiana




Kort O'Leary

Sam Houston State




Hunter Brown

UT Arlington



Interdisciplinary Studies

Taylor Koser