Kirby Zak has become only the third Sam Houston women's soccer player to receive All-Southland Conference honors three years in a row as the Bearkats' junior midfielder from Aledo High School was named as a second team selection on the 2011 all-league squad announced today.

Tricia Mallory, sophomore forward from Spring, and Kayla Anderson, junior defender from Katy, both were honorable mention selections on the 2011 All-Southland Conference women's soccer team.

Zak totaled three goals and two assists from the midfield in helping lead Sam Houston to its third consecutive Southland Conference post-season tournament berth this fall. Zak now ranks fifth in career goals for the Bearkats with 17 tallies in her three seasons. She was a first team All-Southland selection as a sophomore in 2010 and an honorable mention choice as a freshman in 2009.

Mallory led the Bearkats in scoring for the second year in a row with eight goals this fall. She also totaled four assists. The Klein High School product has totaled 19 career goals in her two seasons to tie with Kim Brown (2003-05) for No. 2 in all-time Bearkat soccer goal scoring. Raquel Bueno set the school career record of 27 goals in 2005 through 2008. Mallory was the league's freshman of the year and a second team honoree last year.

Anderson was  a standout defender in a Bearkat back line that posted six shutouts in 2011 and allowed only 1.65 goals per match. She led the team in minutes played with 1,851 and scored three goals and assisted on another.

Zak joins Bueno and Toffie Chavez as the only Kats to earn All-Southland recognition three years in a row. Chavez was all-league in 2005 through 2007.

Mallory is one of 11 Bearkats since the women's soccer program began in 2003 to earn All-Southland recognition twice.

Sam Houston opens play in the Southland Conference Post-Season Classic Thursday at 4:30 p.m. when the No. 6 seeded Bearkats take on No. 3 seed Lamar at Demon Field in Natchitoches, La.

The winner of Thursday's match plays No. 2 seed Texas State on Friday at 4:30 p.m. The tournament finals will be Saturday afternoon.

The 2011 All-Southland Conference Women's Soccer team:

First Team Player School Class
Goalkeeper Lacey Lee Stephen F. Austin Senior
Defender Jordan King Stephen F. Austin Senior
Defender Kyle MacIntosh Southeastern La. Senior
Defender Anka Grotle UTSA Sophomore
Defender Breanne Vernon Stephen F. Austin Junior
Midfielder Kylie Louw Stephen F. Austin Junior
Midfielder Laura Sadler Stephen F. Austin Junior
Midfielder Kelsey Salcido Southeastern La. Sophomore
Forward Chelsea Raymond Stephen F. Austin Freshman
Forward Malya Cooper Southeastern La. Junior
Forward Felicia Leask Texas State Sophomore
Second Team Player School Class
Goalkeeper Lauren Frazier Texas State Senior
Defender Emma Staley Texas State Junior
Defender Amber Thornhill Lamar Sophomore
Defender Michelle Bucy Texas State Sophomore
Defender Taylor Person Texas State Junior
Midfielder Kelsey Bernard Texas State Senior
Midfielder Kirby Zak Sam Houston Junior
Midfielder Kristin Bos Lamar Freshman
Forward Maria Jose Rojas UTSA Sophomore
Forward Lisa Hance Lamar Senior
Forward Liv Nyhegn UTSA Freshman
Honorable Mention    
Karly Dagys, F, SLU; Erica Michaud, F, TXST; Tricia Mallory, F, SHSU; Johna Germany, F, MCN; Kristin Pollard, F, UCA; Edwina Forbes, MF, SFA; Kendell Webber, MF, TXST; Audrey LaLanne, MF, MCN; Rachel O'Steen, MF, NWLA; Taylor Kelley, MF, TXST; Stefanie Miroballi, MF, LU; Kayla Anderson, D, SHSU; Jordan Picou, D, MCN; Nicole Frank, D, LU; Julie Foerster, D, UCA; Andrea Mauk, Texas State; Jennifer Gibbs, GK, LU; Danielle Snyder, GK, UTSA; Jessica Danku, GK, NWLA.

Player of the Year - Kylie Louw, Stephen F. Austin
Freshman of the Year - Chelsea Raymond, Stephen F. Austin
Newcomer of the Year - Andrea Mauk, Texas State
Coach of the Year - Tony Amato, Stephen F. Austin