AquaHawks Well Represented In CAA Awards

Courtesy: UNCW Athletic Communications  
Release: 04/13/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

WILMINGTON, North Carolina - Freshmen Hannah Stephenson and JT Perryman were honored as Colonial Athletic Association Rookies-of-the-Year in women's swimming and men's diving, respectively, and Head Coach Dave Allen was named Men's Coach-of-the-Year, the league announced this week.

Stephenson aided the women's effort at the CAA Championships, scoring 31 points and earning All-CAA honors in the 100 Backstroke and swimming a leg of the CAA championship 200 Medley Relay. Stephenson won the 100 Backstroke with a time of 55.46 seconds.

Perryman, meanwhile, was the top-finishing freshman in both the 1 and 3-meter boards. He earned All-CAA honors in the 1-meter with a score of 267.20 points and finished fifth in the 3-meter. Perryman is just the third Seahawk to earn Rookie-of-the-Year honors, joining Kobi Salinas (2008) and Beau Bunn (1996).

Coach Allen was honored as the Men's Coach-of-the-Year for the ninth time after guiding the Seahawks to their 11th consecutive title. It was the fifth consecutive year he's earned the honor.

The league also recognized its All-CAA award winners. UNCW had 28 all-conference award winners on the men's team and 18 on the women's.

2011-12 UNCW All-Colonial Honorees


50-Freestyle: Joe Gallene, UNCW

100-Freestyle: Joe Gallene, UNCW; Michael Williams, UNCW

200-Freestyle: Gabe Thran, UNCW

100-Butterfly: Nick Lowe, UNCW; Stephen Conrad, UNCW

200-Butterfly: Brandon Hicks, UNCW
100-Breaststroke:  C.J. Fiala, UNCW
100-Backstroke: Michael Baric, UNCW
200-Backstroke: Valtteri Halonen, UNCW
200-Individual Medley: Michael Baric, UNCW
200-Freestyle Relay: UNCW (C.J. Fiala, Nick Lowe, Stephen Conrad, Joe Gallene)
400-Freestyle Relay:  UNCW (C.J. Fiala, Gabe Thran, Joe Gallene, Michael Williams)
800-Freestyle Relay: UNCW (Alex Labonge, Michael Williams, Nick Lowe, Gabe Thran)
200-Medley Relay: UNCW (Michael Baric, Ray McGorry, Stephen Conrad, Joe Gallene)
400-Medley Relay: UNCW (Valtteri Halonen, C.J. Fiala, Stephen Conrad, Michael Williams)
One-Meter Dive:JT Perryman, UNCW


50-Freestyle: Carly Tanner, UNCW
100-Freestyle: Anna Munger, UNCW; Carly Tanner, UNCW
500-Freestyle: Libby Mayock, UNCW
100-Breaststroke: Carly Tanner, UNCW
100-Backstroke: Hannah Stephenson, UNCW
200-Freestyle Relay: UNCW (Carly Tanner, Nicole Miller, Anna Munger, Mattie Riley)
400-Freestyle Relay: UNCW (Carly Tanner, Mattie Riley, Libby Mayock, Anna Munger)
200-Medley Relay:  UNCW (Hannah Stephenson, Carly Tanner, Anna Munger, Mattie Riley)