The Seattle University swimming program enjoyed a successful 2011-12 season, with five new school records and the team adding at least one time into the all-time top ten lists for every event.

At the annual team banquet April 27 held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, several awards were handed out recognizing some of the team's top performers. The Most Valuable Swimmer Awards were given to seniors Jordan Anderson (Newberg, Ore.) and Alexis Morehouse (Vancouver, Wash.). Anderson was a First Team All-MPSF swimmer in the 100 freestyle as well as a two-time Second Team All-MPSF honoree, while Morehouse earned Second Team All-MPSF honors in both the 100 breaststroke and 200 breaststroke.

Junior Tyler Carriker (Everett, Wash.) and sophomore Whitney Dean (Campbell, Calif.) received the Most Improved Swimmer Awards after improving on their personal bests throughout the campaign. The Coaches Awards were given to seniors Keith Andrews (Hillsboro, Ore.) and Hanna Basler (El Cajon, Calif.) as well as sophomore Nicole Doi (Pleasanton, Calif.) for their contributions to the swim program both in competition and at other functions such as practices and team dinners.

Besides the All-MPSF honors bestowed upon Anderson and Morehouse, Nicolas Morrell (Bend, Ore.) and Joe Wertz (Richland, Wash.) earned Second Team All-MPSF honors for their performances in the 200 backstroke at the conference championships. In addition, 24 members of the program, 12 men and 12 women, earned a spot on the MPSF All-Academic Team for their work in the classroom.

The swim program continued to earn recognition at the annual athletics awards show May 30 at Pigott Auditorium. Andrews, one of the hosts of the event, was named Male Student-Athlete of the Year after combining his performance in the pool with his work as president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Council as well as an exemplary body of work in earning his bachelor's degree in sport and exercise science.

The men's and women's swim teams received the team Mission Award for their work in the community, including delivering holiday gifts on behalf of the Center for Service and Community Engagement. Additionally, first-year swimmers Bethany Gehrke (Lynnwood, Wash.) and Kyle Moline (Mercer Island, Wash.) collected the Freshman 15 Award for making an immediate impact on the athletics department in their sport.

Capping off the year, junior Kevlyn Richards (Gig Harbor, Wash.) qualified for the 2012 United States Olympic Swimming Trials in the 100 meter breaststroke, persevering through four attempts before posting the necessary time June 9 in Federal Way, Wash. Richards will head to Omaha, Neb., for the trials June 25, with her competition taking place Tuesday, June 26.

"All of our award winners did a tremendous job and really deserved the recognition that they received this year. In addition, having Keith win the Seattle University Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award and the team winning the SU Athletics Department Mission Award just capped off a great finish to a great year. We are excited about the future of Seattle University men's and women's swimming," Seattle U head coach Craig Nisgor said.

The Seattle University women's swim team will head to the Western Athletic Conference starting in the 2012-13 academic year, while the men's squad will remain in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation. The schedules for both teams will be announced later in the summer.

More in W. Swimming