Uploaded Ad
FSG for Landing Page
Mocs Complete NCAA Certification Process
UTC Director of Athletics Rick Hart
Courtesy: GoMocs.com
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Athletics Department received a certified designation from the NCAA Division I Committee on Athletics Certification today.  A certified designation denotes that an institution operates its athletics program in compliance with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.

"I would like to thank professor Paul Watson (Chair of the Recertification Committee), Senior Associate Athletics Director Laura Herron, professor Gretchen Potts (Report Coordinator) and the entire campus committee for their hard work, leadership and guidance through this process," stated UTC Director of Athletics Rick Hart.  "This is a huge undertaking for the entire campus and I would also like to thank Chancellor Roger Brown for his support throughout this process."

This cycle represents the last certifications started before a moratorium was placed on the program in April 2011 by the Division I Board of Directors.  In January 2011, NCAA President Emmert asked staff to evaluate the program to reduce the burden on institutions, increase cost-effectiveness and improve the overall value.

Legislation mandating certification was adopted for all active Division I schools in 1993 to ensure the integrity of each member institution's athletics program, while assisting institutions with improvements when necessary.

In order to complete the certification process before the moratorium, the institution finished a self-study led by an institution's president or chancellor.  In addition, institutions completed a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; gender/diversity issues and student-athlete well-being. Each member institution is to complete a self-study at least once every 10 years. However, no active members will begin the certification process until Aug. 1, 2013 because of the suspension of the certification program.

The Mocs were among the following 12 institutions certified:

Arizona State University, Alcorn State University, Loyola University (Maryland), Northwestern State University, Samford University, Santa Clara University, Southeast Missouri State University, University at Albany, University of North Carolina, Asheville, University of North Carolina at Greensboro and the University of Northern Iowa.

The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are: Anthony Archbald, Princeton University; John Balog, Jacksonville University; Henry Brooks, University of Maryland, Eastern Shore; Roger Caves, San Diego State University; Casey Comoroski, Missouri State University; Beth DeBauche, Ohio Valley Conference; Tom Douple, The Summit League; John M. Dunn, Western Michigan University; Tracey Flynn, Quinnipiac University; Amy Folan, University of Texas at Austin; Joanne Glasser (chair), Bradley University; Angela Johnson "A.J." Grube, Western Carolina University; Nina King, Duke University; Gary Overton, East Carolina University; William Perry, Eastern Illinois University; Judy Van Horn, University of South Carolina; Fred Washington, Prairie View A&M University; and Sarah Wilhelmi, West Coast Conference.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision