All-Alex Box Stadium Team Complete With 14 Pitchers

Ben McDonald headed the list of outstanding pitchers
Ben McDonald headed the list of outstanding pitchers (@LSUsports) (@LSUsports)
LSU Sports Interactive

BATON ROUGE -- Fourteen former LSU pitchers were selected by fans for the All-Alex Box Stadium “Omaha Era” Team. The fans’ choices were announced during Sunday’s game between LSU and Mississippi State in Alex Box Stadium.

The “Omaha Era” team is composed of former Tigers who played at LSU from 1984 to the present. Fans also voted online to select outfielders, infielders and catchers for the 38-man squad.

The selection of the squad coincided with LSU’s final season in 70-year-old Alex Box Stadium. Sunday’s game was the last regular-season game in the venerable facility.

Following are the pitchers selected by the fans for the “Omaha Era” team, along with a listing of the entire 38-man squad that was announced during LSU’s weekend series with Mississippi State:

All-Alex Box Stadium Team (Omaha Era)

Ben McDonald, RHP * Denham Springs, La. (1987-89)
Paul Byrd, RHP * Louisville, Ky. (1989-91)
Chad Ogea, RHP * Lake Charles, La. (1989-91)
Kurt Ainsworth, RHP * Baton Rouge, La. (1998-99)
Brett Laxton, RHP * Audubon, N.J. (1993-96)
Lane Mestepey, LHP * Zachary, La. (2001-05)
Patrick Coogan, RHP * Baton Rouge, La. (1995-97)
Doug Thompson, RHP * Biloxi, Miss. (1997-98)
Mike Sirotka, LHP * Houston, Texas (1990-93)
Eddie Yarnall, LHP * Coral Springs, Fla. (1994-96)
Russ Springer, RHP * Pollock, La. (1987-89)
Rick Greene, RHP * Miami, Fla. (1990-92)
Scott Schultz, RHP * Sterling, Va. (1992-95)
Lloyd Peever, RHP * Stonewall, Okla. (1992)